Problems and Questions regarding the Main Menu Extra

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
szeora

Problems and Questions regarding the Main Menu Extra

Post by szeora »

Hello!

I'm very new to Unity and programming in general, hence I'm sorry if anything I ask for help here turns out to be very simple and easy to fix...

So, I've imported the Main Menu framework from the Dialogue System's extras page to my game and set it up by following the steps listed on Tony's first response on this other topic, but I had the following issues while trying to make it work as I desired:
  • Clicks with the mouse still influence the game, even though the mouse is hidden and both the "Submit" in the Project Settings' input manager are set to be only the "e" key or the joystick button 0. If I'm selecting an option with the arrow keys, for example, the color of the button shifts to the pressed one whenever I press any of the mouse buttons, even though the option only follows through when I press the ones mapped to "Submit". This also happens in dialogues, in which the continue button's and the response options' colors flicker between selected and pressed. I couldn't find where to properly disable the mouse itself, so I included this here.
  • When I open the quest log from the "Quests" option from the pause menu, the panel opens behind the menu instead of over it, while its resolution doesn't scale with the screen size even though the canvas of the Dialogue UI is set to do so. Also, my inputs can briefly go over to the pause menu buttons while the quest log is opened instead of staying "locked" inside the log's panel. The other options from the pause menu, such as Load Game, Quit Program, Options, etc, all work fine, appearing over the menu's panel.