QTEs not showing up

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22037
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: QTEs not showing up

Post by Tony Li »

Got it. I'll take a look at what's causing the Ink integration to interfere with QTEs.
NotVeryProfessional
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2020 6:35 am

Re: QTEs not showing up

Post by NotVeryProfessional »

Fun fact:

If I run the whole thing FROM INK, it works. I didn't even think of that. There's a bit of minor issues - the line after None() will be skipped and the player response is repeated twice (or once if put into ink's "don't output this" square brackets) - but those things might well be caused by some of the other scripts I have that interfere with conversation lines (colouring by speaker, putting speaker names in front of the line, etc.)

Code: Select all

~ Sequence("QTE(1, 5, eatCake, yes)")
Narrator: cake?
~ Sequence("None()")
THIS LINE WILL BE SKIPPED
{ GetStringVariable("eatCake") == "yes":
    Narrator: You have eaten the cake
    -else: Narrator: Great Willpower
}
* [good!]
* [not good...]
- Narrator: if you think so.
NotVeryProfessional
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2020 6:35 am

Re: QTEs not showing up

Post by NotVeryProfessional »

actually, I just noticed in the Ink Integration source code, that it adds None() sequences, so this works the same:

Code: Select all

~ Sequence("QTE(1, 5, eatCake, yes)")
Narrator: cake?
{ GetStringVariable("eatCake") == "yes":
    Narrator: You have eaten the cake
    -else: Narrator: Great Willpower
}
* [good!]
* [not good...]
- Narrator: if you think so.
NotVeryProfessional
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2020 6:35 am

Re: QTEs not showing up

Post by NotVeryProfessional »

Tony Li wrote: Tue Jun 08, 2021 3:48 pm Got it. I'll take a look at what's causing the Ink integration to interfere with QTEs.
maybe line 391:

Code: Select all

                    entry.Sequence = string.Empty;
If this is called on non-Ink conversations (and I don't see why it wouldn't), then it'll remove any Sequence in the normal database. It'd mean that if you use the Ink integration, everything has to go through Ink.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22037
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: QTEs not showing up

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Would it be possible for you to back up your project and update to the latest Ink integration? It's in DS version 2.2.17's Third Party Support folder. That way we can refer to the same line numbers. I think you're talking about line 387 in the latest integration's DialogueSystemInkIntegration.cs script. If so, it should only be called for the special Ink conversation. (Line 359 checks if it's for the Ink conversation or not.)
NotVeryProfessional
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2020 6:35 am

Re: QTEs not showing up

Post by NotVeryProfessional »

My game is not yet published, so I'm still tracking updates. I simply missed the 2.2.17 release.

So today I updated Unity, Dialogue System and Love/Hate. Then I applied the patch you posted above again, assuming it is against the current version.

Behaviour is unchanged - ink code works, conversation in the database has the same issues still.

Yes, we're talking about the same line numbers (the ones you posted). I added some debug.log() here and there and it looks like it's branching all correctly there. So no idea why it's acting up.

I do have a workaround for my project, if I can write those scenes in Ink that's ok with me. So from my side no pressure on fixing this issue right now.

Thanks again for the really excellent support on this asset. I feel a bit worried that I've burned many times the purchase price just in support time.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22037
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: QTEs not showing up

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Turns out it was just an oversight in the Ink integration. I just published an updated Ink integration package on the Dialogue System Extras page, in the "Updated for 2.2.17" foldout.
Post Reply