QTEs not showing up
Re: QTEs not showing up
Got it. I'll take a look at what's causing the Ink integration to interfere with QTEs.
-
- Posts: 150
- Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2020 6:35 am
Re: QTEs not showing up
Fun fact:
If I run the whole thing FROM INK, it works. I didn't even think of that. There's a bit of minor issues - the line after None() will be skipped and the player response is repeated twice (or once if put into ink's "don't output this" square brackets) - but those things might well be caused by some of the other scripts I have that interfere with conversation lines (colouring by speaker, putting speaker names in front of the line, etc.)
If I run the whole thing FROM INK, it works. I didn't even think of that. There's a bit of minor issues - the line after None() will be skipped and the player response is repeated twice (or once if put into ink's "don't output this" square brackets) - but those things might well be caused by some of the other scripts I have that interfere with conversation lines (colouring by speaker, putting speaker names in front of the line, etc.)
Code: Select all
~ Sequence("QTE(1, 5, eatCake, yes)")
Narrator: cake?
~ Sequence("None()")
THIS LINE WILL BE SKIPPED
{ GetStringVariable("eatCake") == "yes":
Narrator: You have eaten the cake
-else: Narrator: Great Willpower
}
* [good!]
* [not good...]
- Narrator: if you think so.
-
- Posts: 150
- Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2020 6:35 am
Re: QTEs not showing up
actually, I just noticed in the Ink Integration source code, that it adds None() sequences, so this works the same:
Code: Select all
~ Sequence("QTE(1, 5, eatCake, yes)")
Narrator: cake?
{ GetStringVariable("eatCake") == "yes":
Narrator: You have eaten the cake
-else: Narrator: Great Willpower
}
* [good!]
* [not good...]
- Narrator: if you think so.
-
- Posts: 150
- Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2020 6:35 am
Re: QTEs not showing up
maybe line 391:
Code: Select all
entry.Sequence = string.Empty;
Re: QTEs not showing up
Hi,
Would it be possible for you to back up your project and update to the latest Ink integration? It's in DS version 2.2.17's Third Party Support folder. That way we can refer to the same line numbers. I think you're talking about line 387 in the latest integration's DialogueSystemInkIntegration.cs script. If so, it should only be called for the special Ink conversation. (Line 359 checks if it's for the Ink conversation or not.)
Would it be possible for you to back up your project and update to the latest Ink integration? It's in DS version 2.2.17's Third Party Support folder. That way we can refer to the same line numbers. I think you're talking about line 387 in the latest integration's DialogueSystemInkIntegration.cs script. If so, it should only be called for the special Ink conversation. (Line 359 checks if it's for the Ink conversation or not.)
-
- Posts: 150
- Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2020 6:35 am
Re: QTEs not showing up
My game is not yet published, so I'm still tracking updates. I simply missed the 2.2.17 release.
So today I updated Unity, Dialogue System and Love/Hate. Then I applied the patch you posted above again, assuming it is against the current version.
Behaviour is unchanged - ink code works, conversation in the database has the same issues still.
Yes, we're talking about the same line numbers (the ones you posted). I added some debug.log() here and there and it looks like it's branching all correctly there. So no idea why it's acting up.
I do have a workaround for my project, if I can write those scenes in Ink that's ok with me. So from my side no pressure on fixing this issue right now.
Thanks again for the really excellent support on this asset. I feel a bit worried that I've burned many times the purchase price just in support time.
So today I updated Unity, Dialogue System and Love/Hate. Then I applied the patch you posted above again, assuming it is against the current version.
Behaviour is unchanged - ink code works, conversation in the database has the same issues still.
Yes, we're talking about the same line numbers (the ones you posted). I added some debug.log() here and there and it looks like it's branching all correctly there. So no idea why it's acting up.
I do have a workaround for my project, if I can write those scenes in Ink that's ok with me. So from my side no pressure on fixing this issue right now.
Thanks again for the really excellent support on this asset. I feel a bit worried that I've burned many times the purchase price just in support time.
Re: QTEs not showing up
Hi,
Turns out it was just an oversight in the Ink integration. I just published an updated Ink integration package on the Dialogue System Extras page, in the "Updated for 2.2.17" foldout.
Turns out it was just an oversight in the Ink integration. I just published an updated Ink integration package on the Dialogue System Extras page, in the "Updated for 2.2.17" foldout.