Multiple Small Questions regarding the Dialogue System

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
The_Kihng

Multiple Small Questions regarding the Dialogue System

Post by The_Kihng »

Hi, this is my first time posting here. I just want to begin by saying that this is an amazing asset you've created, and it's been quite fun for the most part to learn. I had a few questions on how to finish up customizing my UIs and conversations.

-Variables: I've set up an example conversation where talking to the NPC increases a variable each time, allowing for different texts. I thought this would be useful for interactable objects, as they could each have an instance of this variable that raises when examined. I had this setup in a previous engine I've now abandoned, and it worked amazingly, but I've yet to determine how to do this in Unity. While I do know a bit of C#, I'm unfamiliar with both Lua and the methods and classes of this asset. This seems easy in my head, but I need a nudge in the correct direction.

-Hiding Portraits and Names: On that note, I need to be able to easily hide the portrait section of the UI. I've pretty heavily customized the JRPG template and have everything related to portraits under the Portrait Panel, but I don't know how to disable and reenable this as needed through Lua or C#. I should note that I have almost no experience working with UI using direct code, and learning from this asset has actually been my first real experience working with UI entirely! I found many results related to this topic in my searches, but nothing exactly matching my needs.