Change Conversation Fields on Runtime

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
elekvault

Change Conversation Fields on Runtime

Post by elekvault »

Hi, I really need help because this is driving me crazy and I'm out of ideas. It's probably something I'm not getting at all, I'm new with Lua so maybe you can help me.

Context is:

I've got a Dialogue Database with a conversation that has a custom field called CurrentStepID = 0; there is a Start node, then 3 child nodes. Each child node has conditions Conversation[1].CurrentStepID == 0, 1 or 2 respectively. At the end of each branch, it increases the CurrentStepID value using the Lua code Conversation[2].CurrentStepID = 1;

The Dialogue Manager (Dialogue System Controller component) has checked 'Allow Only One Instance', 'Don't destroy on Load', and 'Instantiate Database'.

In-game, I trigger via C# script the conversation and it goes through the first branch, and then changes CurrentStepID to 1. If I run the conversation again in the same playing session, it correctly checks the condition and goes through second branch, and so on. So, for the same playing session, it all runs as expected. For the purpose of this error, we'll run the conversation just once, so CurrentStepID = 1.

I've got a custom save system (because reasons) that saves the value of CurrentStepID on a Dictionary<int, int> with key being Conversation ID. It saves correctly.

Now, on the next play session, on game start, I load the saved data that correctly contains the CurrentStepID = 1 for .
I'm trying to load the saved value into the conversation field, to no success, so when triggered in this new play session it starts at the second branch, but it keeps the CurrentStepID = 0 and triggers the first branch.