Beginner trying to understand Conversations & NPCs talking to Each Other

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
2linescrossed

Beginner trying to understand Conversations & NPCs talking to Each Other

Post by 2linescrossed »

Hi there! I’ve recently bought the Dialog System for Unity, and I would like some overall guidance on what to use specifically in the plugin overall, as this is the first time I’ll be using this. I’m a novice programmer, so I’m not as proficient as I would like to be, which is why I’m asking for clarification.

I’m currently in the midst of making a card game, where different opponents can converse with each other at the table. While the player is one of the potential conversants in the game, the emphasis is on the other characters interacting with each other, which is a bit of an unusual situation that I’m not sure how to reflect using the Dialog system.

While I think something like barks could work for more short text reactions, I’m not as sure how I should be implementing the specific features I’m looking for.

1. I want the players to be able, after a turn starts (and after a random amount of time has passed, so that they’re not constantly talking), to start conversations with each other. These conversations are brief, but are tied to specific pairs of characters being present at the table; which I’m not sure how to keep track of. Currently, the AI player characters are initialized through a ScriptableObject containing their data being pasted onto a prefab that holds standard character properties. Should I be tying some kind of dialog prefab in to the ScriptableObjects so that the DialogManager knows which players are physically present? Are ScriptableObjects able to hold what ‘Actor’/Conversant that the character should be?