Hiding the continue button and dialogue box for Timeline cutscenes.

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
MasterDavicous

Hiding the continue button and dialogue box for Timeline cutscenes.

Post by MasterDavicous »

Hello! I'm relatively new to the Dialogue System. I have a Timeline cutscene in Unity, and I have my dialogue box sequenced with it so that it continues the text at the appropriate time. I have two things which I'm having trouble accomplishing:

1. I would like to hide the continue button during Timeline cutscenes, because I have the text timed how I want it. However, when I turn the Continue Button setting to Never, it will hide the button, but my text will continue right away on its own regardless of my triggers on my Timeline. I would like to just hide the continue button for my Timeline cutscenes, but also have it available/visible for regular NPC dialogue interactions.

2. I would also like to be able to hide and show the dialogue box UI between extended periods where a piece of text finishes, and there is a significant amount of time during the cutscene before the text continues. Is the best way to accomplish this just by disabling the Dialogue Panel gameObject and re-enabling it before the Continue Dialogue trigger, or is there a way that's built in with the Dialogue System to do this?

Thanks for your time! :D
Tony Li

Re: Hiding the continue button and dialogue box for Timeline cutscenes.

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,
MasterDavicous wrote: Mon Apr 10, 2023 12:54 pm1. I would like to hide the continue button during Timeline cutscenes, because I have the text timed how I want it. However, when I turn the Continue Button setting to Never, it will hide the button, but my text will continue right away on its own regardless of my triggers on my Timeline. I would like to just hide the continue button for my Timeline cutscenes, but also have it available/visible for regular NPC dialogue interactions.