Triggering multiple quests

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for Quest Machine.
Post Reply
mightyBond
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2021 3:14 pm

Triggering multiple quests

Post by mightyBond »

Hello!

I'm having problems in triggering multiple quests in Quest Machine.

Having more than one quest assigned in a quest database results to this when triggering a quest window:

Image

The School Supplies quest is triggered normally using StartDialogueWithPlayer();
The Community Board quest uses auto offer function using message.

May I know how to make it that it just shows one quest offer at a time? Not in a list that needs to be selected?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21926
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Triggering multiple quests

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

By default, the quest giver shows all quests in its list that are currently offerable.

One solution is to make sure the Community Board quest is not yet offerable, or move it to a different quest giver.

If you can't do that, you can make a subclass of QuestGiver that overrides StartMostRelevantDialogue() to only show one quest (e.g., call the dialogue UI's ShowOfferQuest method).
mightyBond
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2021 3:14 pm

Re: Triggering multiple quests

Post by mightyBond »

How can I make a quest not offerable? I don't see it when editing the quest itself.

I'm trying to do the first solution as having multiple quest givers might be confusing in the long run in developing our game.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21926
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Triggering multiple quests

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

A quest is not offerable if its Offer Conditions are false. The Offer Conditions are in the quest's main properties.

If you only want Community Board to be offered after the player completes School Supplies, you can add Offer Conditions to Community Board that requires that School Supplies is in the success state.
mightyBond
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2021 3:14 pm

Re: Triggering multiple quests

Post by mightyBond »

Hello!

I would like to test that but it seems the community board quest won't trigger, i used the auto start function in quest editor thru using message. For testing, I have quest as the only one in the quest database. I wanted the quest to show immediately in the HUD text rather than having to making it appear in a quest window and accept it.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21926
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Triggering multiple quests

Post by Tony Li »

If I understand correctly, you may want to assign the quest in a C# script, as described in: How To: Start Quest From Script.

Alternatively, if you want to auto-start by sending a message, add the quest directly to the player's Quest Journal.
mightyBond
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2021 3:14 pm

Re: Triggering multiple quests

Post by mightyBond »

The latter one you said worked, thank you very much! Will check the additional resources you sent for reference in the future.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21926
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Triggering multiple quests

Post by Tony Li »

Glad to help!
Post Reply