Continue Track of Timeline on Player Choices?

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
fkkcloud
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:00 am

Continue Track of Timeline on Player Choices?

Post by fkkcloud »

Hello,

I am trying to create an exception for player choice where it has a timelimit.

Yes, I am aware of "Response Timeout" in "Input Settings" of Dialogue System Controller but as of my most dialogue choices do not require timed choice, I am not willing to turn that on.

I have these 2 choices in the cinematic and hope to just let it select 1st one if the player does not choose anything.
The scene will be in Timeline so I hope to utilize Timeline track.
I am trying to use "Continue" track in the timeline on timeout moment.
Would it automatically select the 1st choice when Continue is triggered?

Thank you
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21989
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Continue Track of Timeline on Player Choices?

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

If the dialogue UI is showing a response menu, it will not respond to Continue.

However, you can use the SetTimeout() sequencer command on the previous dialogue entry node to set a timeout duration for the next response menu. On the node(s) after the menu, use SetTimeout(0) to disable timeouts again.
fkkcloud
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:00 am

Re: Continue Track of Timeline on Player Choices?

Post by fkkcloud »

Hello,

So if I call

Code: Select all

SetTimeout(2)
for 2 second (This is scaled Time, right? ) in 1 (in the below image)

and call

Code: Select all

SetTimeout(0)
on the 3 (in the below image),

Would that be the ideal use case?
화면 캡처 2021-06-20 200315.jpg
화면 캡처 2021-06-20 200315.jpg (19.44 KiB) Viewed 341 times
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21989
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Continue Track of Timeline on Player Choices?

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Yes, that's correct. You could also move SetTimeout(0) to the Sequences in the (2) if you prefer.

Also, timeout uses the Dialogue Manager's Other Settings > Dialogue Time mode.
Post Reply