Page 1 of 2
Animator state issues
Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 7:03 pm
by soniclinkerman
Hey! I just picked this up yesterday!
I want the player animation state to change depending on the node, but for some reason, its not switching.
Here's my scene
- Scene example.png (485.3 KiB) Viewed 497 times
I simply want the character to change sprite color when they talk.
I thought doing
in sequence would do the trick, but it looks as if it's not even recognizing the animator at all
Here's my Inspector
- Inspector 1.png (95.53 KiB) Viewed 497 times
Furthermore, I would like the "text box:: only to appear when a character is talking. Here's an example image of what I mean
- Scene example 2.png (464.44 KiB) Viewed 497 times
The image above is what I pretty much want the final product to look like, every character becomes dark except for the one talking and the text box becomes visible for them ONLY if they are talking.
Thanks!
Re: Animator state issues
Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 7:44 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,
Thanks for getting the Dialogue System!
The
Dialogue System Extras page has a patch that improves the VN Template Standard Dialogue UI to darken portrait images more nicely. (
direct download) I recommend importing the patch and checking out the VN prefab. The improvements in this patch are also in the upcoming version 2.2.16.
This sequence:
will play the animator state "Talking" on the GameObject associated with the speaker's GameObject.
I also recommend modifying the sequence to something like this:
Code: Select all
AnimatorPlay(Talking);
required AnimatorPlay(Idle)@{{end}}
The second line will wait for a duration based on the text length, and then it will change the animator to the "Idle" state. The required keyword guarantees that it runs this command even if the player clicks ahead early. More info:
Sequence Tutorials
If you want to play it the speaker's portrait image instead, take a look at the AnimatedPortraitExample scene also available on the Extras page. (
direct download)
If you want to play it on the speaker's GameObject, please read
Character GameObject Assignments. In general, according to the screenshot of your dialogue entry's inspector, it should look for the Animator on the "Zent" GameObject. But the conversation may use a different GameObject in various circumstances that are covered in that link.
A helpful way to figure out what's going on with sequencer commands is to temporarily set the Dialogue Manager's Other Settings > Debug Level to Info. This will log detailed information to the Console. Among the logs will be two lines for each sequencer command. The first line shows the result of the Dialogue System parsing the sequencer command and putting it in the queue to run. The second line appears when the command actually runs, and it shows the GameObjects, etc., that are being used for it.
Re: Animator state issues
Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 9:49 pm
by soniclinkerman
Thank you for your response.
I downloaded the extra packs you linked and am using the first one that was linked. For some reason, whenever I want the other character(Carton) to speak, nothing happens.
My dialogue db
- Image 1.png (729.31 KiB) Viewed 492 times
My left side portrait settings in inspector
- Left Side Settings.png (830.81 KiB) Viewed 492 times
My dialogue Manager settings
- Image 4.png (817.88 KiB) Viewed 492 times
Template I downloaded from here
- Image 2.png (776.46 KiB) Viewed 492 times
Re: Animator state issues
Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 11:51 pm
by soniclinkerman
UPDATE
I was able to get the text to show when showing thee Player "Carton".
It was because I had "Is Player" clicked in the dialogue DB character window. The player won't be able to talk so it will only be back and forth dialogue so I guess that isn't needed.
The issue of Player highlighting is still there though. Will continue to work on it and post updates
Re: Animator state issues
Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2021 12:35 am
by soniclinkerman
Ok I'm currently just running across an issue where there will only ever be 1 character image on screen when I really want 2. It seems to happen when I turn off "Is Player", is there a way I can get 2 of them on screen without having to turn on " Is Player" ?
Re: Animator state issues
Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2021 9:36 am
by Tony Li
Hi,
soniclinkerman wrote: ↑Thu Apr 01, 2021 12:35 amOk I'm currently just running across an issue where there will only ever be 1 character image on screen when I really want 2. It seems to happen when I turn off "Is Player", is there a way I can get 2 of them on screen without having to turn on " Is Player" ?
If I understand you correctly, here are two separate solutions:
1. For the player actor, tick Is Player. Inspect the Dialogue Manager, and UNtick Display Settings > Input Settings > Always Force Response Menu.
2. And/or add a Dialogue Actor component to the GameObject that corresponds to the Player actor. (See
Character GameObject Assignments.) Set Standard UI Display Settings > Subtitle Panel Number to a different panel number, such as Panel 1.
Re: Animator state issues
Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2021 11:10 am
by soniclinkerman
Hey Tony. So Unticking it seemed to work. Is there a way to have the "Player" have a "forced" dialogue.
What I mean is,
I simply want the player to act LIKE the NPC where dialogue is already determined. The player shouldn't have an option in this scenario
Re: Animator state issues
Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2021 11:18 am
by soniclinkerman
***Update***
It seems if I make "isPlayer" false and switch panels(As you mentioned).
The dialogue works fine for both characters.
The last thing I need to do is simply make things lighter or darker depending on who's speaking. I replaced my previous set up with the VN package, but for some reason, the player that is meant to be talking isn't changing color like needed
Re: Animator state issues
Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2021 11:38 am
by Tony Li
Hi,
If you can start with the 'VN Template Standard Dialogue UI' prefab, it's already configured to darken the other portraits.
Here's an example scene:
DS_VNFocusStyleDialogueUI_2021-03-23.unitypackage
Re: Animator state issues
Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2021 2:08 pm
by soniclinkerman
Implemented it and everything seems to work! Once I figure out how to disable player movement in "Dialogue", I should be set