New Input System integration question

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
fkkcloud
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:00 am

New Input System integration question

Post by fkkcloud »

Hello,

I am in the mid of setting up the new input system right now.
I am not using mouse for my game at the moment so going to set key for joystick but it complains about the mouse position.
1234.png
1234.png (113.14 KiB) Viewed 718 times
error
2222.png
2222.png (150.03 KiB) Viewed 715 times
555.png
555.png (8.21 KiB) Viewed 715 times
777.png
777.png (117.69 KiB) Viewed 715 times
any suggestions?
Attachments
123.png
123.png (32.05 KiB) Viewed 718 times
fkkcloud
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:00 am

Re: New Input System integration question

Post by fkkcloud »

it seems like its related to EventSystem is still trying to use "standaloneinputmodule"?
Is this because I did not override/set specific input in the InputDeviceManager? and if it is, which would it be?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22051
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: New Input System integration question

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Please try two things:

1. On your EventSystem, replace the StandaloneInputModule with an InputSystemUIInputModule as the EventSystem requests.

2. Select menu item Tools > Pixel Crushers > Dialogue System > Welcome Window. Make use the USE_NEW_INPUT checkbox is ticked.

BTW, the Plugins / Pixel Crushers / Common / Documentation folder has a PDF manual for the Input Device Manager. It has a section on setting up the new Input System.
fkkcloud
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:00 am

Re: New Input System integration question

Post by fkkcloud »

Hi Tony,

1. The "EventSystem" is instantiated with it when the conversation starts. I was looking for any code line or prefab that ConverstaionManager is using to replace as you say but no luck :o

2. I already did!
333.png
333.png (107.07 KiB) Viewed 709 times


3. Yup, I found it and did as it is saying the page. Still same problem..
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22051
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: New Input System integration question

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Add an EventSystem to your scene. If your scene uses Unity UI, it should have an EventSystem.

As a safety measure, the StandardDialogueUI and StandardQuestLogWindow components have a checkbox that will automatically create an EventSystem if it's missing. But that EventSystem uses the default StandaloneInputModule. In the next update, this safety measure will check if you've enabled USE_NEW_INPUT; if so, it will set up an EventSystem with InputSystemUIInputModule instead of StandaloneInputModule. But the best way to do it is to set up the EventSystem yourself so you have control over its setup.
fkkcloud
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:00 am

Re: New Input System integration question

Post by fkkcloud »

ah works perfectly now. :!:

Thanks for the tool and creating an awesome tool- cant wait to replace all my old dialogue system with it.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22051
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: New Input System integration question

Post by Tony Li »

Thanks! Happy to help.
Post Reply