VN Framework with Conversation Log

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
allisonrose

VN Framework with Conversation Log

Post by allisonrose »

Hi there!

I am a noob, but and loving Dialogue System so far!!

I am using the VN framework and so far everything has been going well.
However, I'd like to add a conversation log that records past conversations and is accessible via a button I've added to the menu.
I've looked at the conversation log example, but am unsure how to incorporate this into my current VN UI, since the conversation log uses its own ui. Is there a way to add a log into my current UI?

Thanks !
Tony Li

Re: VN Framework with Conversation Log

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Thanks for using the Dialogue System!

If you want to enable scrollback of the current conversation only, tick the subtitle panel's Accumulate Text checkbox:
This is essentially what the conversation log example does. A quick way to test this is to assign the WRPG Template Standard Dialogue UI or Runic Standard Dialogue UI to the Dialogue Manager's Dialogue UI field. They already have the checkbox ticked.

If you want to record all past conversations, there isn't a built-in checkbox for that. If you're comfortable with a little scripting, I recommend looking at the script ConversationLogger.cs, which is in Plugins / Pixel Crushers / Dialogue System / Scripts / Utility. It uses special Dialogue System script methods such as OnConversationStart() and OnConversationLine(). You can use this script as a model when writing something of your own.
Alatriste

Post by Alatriste »

+1 to add the log option to the VN framework for not programmers :P

(or maybe can it be done through Playmaker?)
Tony Li

Post by Tony Li »

I can add a conversation log to the next release.

Do you want it to show all conversations in one big scrollback log? Or separate conversations accessed by a menu?
Alatriste

Post by Alatriste »