Timeline Continue Conversation problem: only last clips are played

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Zaadschaap

Timeline Continue Conversation problem: only last clips are played

Post by Zaadschaap »

Hello all,

so this is my first post on the board and I hope someone can help me.

I'm trying out the cool feature of continue conversation through the unity timeline. It's a simple dialogue between two characters, nothing special. It's about 9 different texts/nodes.

So I have two tracks set up. One with the start conversation track which contains one 'clip' and links to the conversation. The second track is a continue conversation track where I added clips in at the point that I want the dialog to move to the next node.

Now the start clip plays perfect, but as soon as that one is finished, and reaches the clip in the continue conversation track, the dialog skips almost all nodes and simply plays the last two (varies) clips.

I am a beginner with the dialogue system so I probably am overlooking something really simple :-D

Thanks for any help!

cheers,
Andreas
Tony Li

Re: Timeline Continue Conversation problem: only last clips are played

Post by Tony Li »

Hi Andreas,

Welcome!

Are all of the nodes' Sequence fields set to "WaitForMessage(Forever)"? Alternatively, they can be blank if you've set the Default Sequence to this. You can either set the Default Sequence on the Dialogue Manger GameObject or specifically for a single conversation by inspecting the conversation's properties and ticking the Override checkboxes.

Are there any errors or warnings in the Console window?

Is a player actor or non-player actor assigned to the nodes? (A player actor is one whose Is Player checkbox is ticked.)

I don't know if this makes a difference, but try shortening the continue clips so they don't overlap.

What versions of Unity and the Dialogue System are you using?
Zaadschaap

Post by Zaadschaap »

Hi Tony,