Interested in DS for a text based Gridder like Wizardry or Eye of the Beholder

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
SB_Writes

Interested in DS for a text based Gridder like Wizardry or Eye of the Beholder

Post by SB_Writes »

I'm really interested in using Dialogue System for a project I'm about to start working on. It's a text based version of old school FPS dungeon crawlers. Looking over the manual and watching the tutorials on youtube has me slightly concerned. I'm new to unity and since my project will be mostly text based (with the exception of interactive buttons on the HUD and inventory screen), I'm not sure if Dialogue System will work (since I'm not sure how colliders come into play with my expected setup).

I appreciate any input on the matter.
Tony Li

Re: Interested in DS for a text based Gridder like Wizardry or Eye of the Beholder

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

The Dialogue System works great for text-based games. It's even been used for a vision-impaired project that basically didn't use any visual output (text or graphics) at all. The CYOA Framework is an example of a primarily text-based project. The version on the website uses the Unity webplayer, so you'll have to use a browser other than Chrome. I haven't uploaded a WebGL version of that demo yet, but the Dialogue System is fully WebGL-compatible.

The Dialogue System is modular and keeps a clean separation between data, game world objects, and user interface. It provides general-purpose components for game world interaction and user interfaces, but you don't have to use them. You can swap in your own functionality instead, and the data module will work happily with them. Template scripts are included to help you get started quicker.