Import with articy:draft : variables are not imported correctly
Import with articy:draft : variables are not imported correctly
Hello there,
I recently tried out articy:draft to create the Dialogues for my game, since I saw there was an import function for it.
Everything seems to import fine, including the sequences. The only problem I encountered was with variables : The variable's description and type are not imported. The description is always empty and the type is Text by default. Is this the normal behaviour? Am I missing something?
For the actors' fields, the type is imported correctly, so why is this not the case for variables?
I attached screenshots for my xml file and the output in the Dialogue System if that's any help.
Thanks in advance!
I recently tried out articy:draft to create the Dialogues for my game, since I saw there was an import function for it.
Everything seems to import fine, including the sequences. The only problem I encountered was with variables : The variable's description and type are not imported. The description is always empty and the type is Text by default. Is this the normal behaviour? Am I missing something?
For the actors' fields, the type is imported correctly, so why is this not the case for variables?
I attached screenshots for my xml file and the output in the Dialogue System if that's any help.
Thanks in advance!
- Attachments
-
- dialogue_system_variables.PNG (157.45 KiB) Viewed 940 times
-
- xml_variables.PNG (83.14 KiB) Viewed 940 times
Re: Import with articy:draft : variables are not imported correctly
Hi,
The converter doesn't import the description. Would this be useful to you? If so, I can add it to the next version.
However, the converter should correctly import the variable's type.
What versions of Unity, Dialogue System, and articy:draft are you using?
The converter doesn't import the description. Would this be useful to you? If so, I can add it to the next version.
However, the converter should correctly import the variable's type.
What versions of Unity, Dialogue System, and articy:draft are you using?
Re: Import with articy:draft : variables are not imported correctly
Hi,
Thank you for the quick response. I guess the description would be useful for clarity purposes but that's about it. It was really the variable types that concerned me.
Turns out after restarting unity and reimporting the file, everything is working fine, now I feel dumb
Here are the versions I use for everything, just for safety:
- Unity : 5.6.0f3
- articy-draft : Version 3.1.2
- Dialogue System : 1.7.2
Thanks for the help!
EDIT : After further investigation, it seems that the version of Dialogue System might by the reason for this bug. I had different versions on different branches. With version 1.7.2, the variables were all imported as Text. With version 1.6.9, the variables were imported correctly. I tried updating to 1.7.3 but the result is the same as with 1.7.2.
Is there any way to access previous versions of the Dialogue System for further testing?
Since the articy:draft converter is a DLL, I can't really pinpoint the source of the problem.
Again, thanks for the help
Thank you for the quick response. I guess the description would be useful for clarity purposes but that's about it. It was really the variable types that concerned me.
Turns out after restarting unity and reimporting the file, everything is working fine, now I feel dumb
Here are the versions I use for everything, just for safety:
- Unity : 5.6.0f3
- articy-draft : Version 3.1.2
- Dialogue System : 1.7.2
Thanks for the help!
EDIT : After further investigation, it seems that the version of Dialogue System might by the reason for this bug. I had different versions on different branches. With version 1.7.2, the variables were all imported as Text. With version 1.6.9, the variables were imported correctly. I tried updating to 1.7.3 but the result is the same as with 1.7.2.
Is there any way to access previous versions of the Dialogue System for further testing?
Since the articy:draft converter is a DLL, I can't really pinpoint the source of the problem.
Again, thanks for the help
Re: Import with articy:draft : variables are not imported correctly
Hi,
I'll publish a fix on the Pixel Crushers customer download site later today. If you wouldn't mind PM'ing me your Unity Asset Store invoice number, I'll make sure you have access.
(Regarding the source code, you can use these instructions to unpack it if you want to dig into it.)
I'll publish a fix on the Pixel Crushers customer download site later today. If you wouldn't mind PM'ing me your Unity Asset Store invoice number, I'll make sure you have access.
(Regarding the source code, you can use these instructions to unpack it if you want to dig into it.)
Re: Import with articy:draft : variables are not imported correctly
I haven't been able to reproduce the issue you reported. I tested Unity 5.6.0f3, articy 3.0.7 and 3.1.3 (sorry, couldn't find a way to download 3.1.2), and Dialogue System 1.7.2 and 1.7.3.
Would it be possible for you to email your XML file to tony (at) pixelcrushers.com?
(When I can reproduce the issue and implement a fix, I'll also add the code to import variables' descriptions.)
Would it be possible for you to email your XML file to tony (at) pixelcrushers.com?
(When I can reproduce the issue and implement a fix, I'll also add the code to import variables' descriptions.)
Re: Import with articy:draft : variables are not imported correctly
Hello,
After more testing, it turns out that I only get this issue on a particular computer. I tried on three different PCs with the same version of Dialogue System, Unity and the same XML file so I doubt that the XML file is the source of this bug.
I tried to pinpoint the origin of the problem by unpacking the source code. When debugging, the variable's type is assigned correctly in the database. It's only when visualizing the database in the Dialogue Editor that somehow they all become Text. Could it be a problem with the template maybe? When I change the default variable type in the template to "Number" before importing, the variables are all imported as number.
I guess I'll just use some other PCs to import then, no big deal. Still weird.
Thank you for your time.
After more testing, it turns out that I only get this issue on a particular computer. I tried on three different PCs with the same version of Dialogue System, Unity and the same XML file so I doubt that the XML file is the source of this bug.
I tried to pinpoint the origin of the problem by unpacking the source code. When debugging, the variable's type is assigned correctly in the database. It's only when visualizing the database in the Dialogue Editor that somehow they all become Text. Could it be a problem with the template maybe? When I change the default variable type in the template to "Number" before importing, the variables are all imported as number.
I guess I'll just use some other PCs to import then, no big deal. Still weird.
Thank you for your time.
Re: Import with articy:draft : variables are not imported correctly
I'll keep investigating. It sounds like the problem may be with the Dialogue Editor window and not the articy import. I'll post back when I have more info.
-
- Posts: 106
- Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 4:10 pm
- Location: Canada
Re: Import with articy:draft : variables are not imported correctly
Hello,
I am currently having the exact same problem with 1.7.7.1. I have two variables that are set as boolean in articy:draft but they are displayed as Text in Dialogue System. Is there any option I need to check when importing the XML to make it display properly?
I am currently having the exact same problem with 1.7.7.1. I have two variables that are set as boolean in articy:draft but they are displayed as Text in Dialogue System. Is there any option I need to check when importing the XML to make it display properly?
- Attachments
-
- Variables_DS_Capture.PNG (14.8 KiB) Viewed 840 times
-
- Variables_Articy_Capture.PNG (60.36 KiB) Viewed 840 times
Unity 2022.3.17f1
Dialogue System 2.2.44.1
OpenAI Addon 1.0.12
Dialogue System 2.2.44.1
OpenAI Addon 1.0.12
Re: Import with articy:draft : variables are not imported correctly
I'll check this with articy:draft 3.1.11 and reply back here,
Nevigo fixed a bug in their XML generation, and it's possible that they introduced another. The Dialogue System's articy Converter uses the XML file's DataType tag. For example, the XML might contain something like:
The third-from-last line is:
This indicates the variable type. If Dlg_M01_01_Done is showing as:
then this would explain why it's being converted as a Text variable. I should be able to provide more details later today.
Nevigo fixed a bug in their XML generation, and it's possible that they introduced another. The Dialogue System's articy Converter uses the XML file's DataType tag. For example, the XML might contain something like:
Code: Select all
<VariableSet Id="0x0100000000000125">
<TechnicalName>GameState</TechnicalName>
<Description Count="1">
<LocalizedString Lang="">Game state variables.</LocalizedString>
</Description>
<Variables Count="5">
<Variable>
<TechnicalName>ToldEmperorIsHere</TechnicalName>
<Description Count="1">
<LocalizedString Lang="">If true, Private Hart has briefed the PC.</LocalizedString>
</Description>
<DataType>Boolean</DataType>
<DefaultValue>False</DefaultValue>
</Variable>
Code: Select all
<DataType>Boolean</DataType>
Code: Select all
<DataType>String</DataType>
-
- Posts: 106
- Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 4:10 pm
- Location: Canada
Re: Import with articy:draft : variables are not imported correctly
FYI, here is the part about the variables in the generated XML file from articy:
Code: Select all
<Variables Count="2">
<Variable>
<TechnicalName>Dlg_M01_01_Done</TechnicalName>
<Description Count="0"/>
<DataType>Boolean</DataType>
<DefaultValue>True</DefaultValue>
</Variable>
<Variable>
<TechnicalName>Dlg_M01_02_Done</TechnicalName>
<Description Count="0"/>
<DataType>Boolean</DataType>
<DefaultValue>False</DefaultValue>
</Variable>
</Variables>
Unity 2022.3.17f1
Dialogue System 2.2.44.1
OpenAI Addon 1.0.12
Dialogue System 2.2.44.1
OpenAI Addon 1.0.12