Showing / Hidding UI

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for Quest Machine.
Post Reply
GorkaGames
Posts: 178
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 8:38 pm

Showing / Hidding UI

Post by GorkaGames »

Hi,

I'm using set active (true / false) in QuestHud when I'm in my Main Menu and I don't want to show the QuestHud on it.
I can switch off easily with set active false but when I left the Main Menu and I try to show up the QuestHud again it doesn't work , I have tried with: QuestMachineMessages.RefreshUIs(null); but i didn't work.

Is there any better way to activate / desactivate the QuestHud ? Thanks
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21925
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Showing / Hidding UI

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

When you open your Main Menu, disable Quest Machine's Canvas:

Image

Then re-enable it when you close your Main Menu.

One way to do it in code is:

Code: Select all

PixelCrushers.QuestMachine.QuestMachineConfiguration.instance.GetComponentInChildren<Canvas>().enabled = false;
A different solution is to set your Main Menu Canvas's Sort Order to a higher value. In Quest Machine's Demo scene, the Gameplay Canvas is higher. It has a child object named Menu UI. If you enable Menu UI's Image component and play the scene, you will see that it covers the whole screen. You could set the Image's color to semi-transparent black so it covers the HUD but leaves it slightly visible.
GorkaGames
Posts: 178
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 8:38 pm

Re: Showing / Hidding UI

Post by GorkaGames »

Thanks very much for answer on a Sunday, even with this detail the 2 tickets.
I'm doing all the updates and I let you know!
(I tried the canvas order before but it didn't worl for me, may be because one of them is overlay / camera. I'll use the script instead.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21925
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Showing / Hidding UI

Post by Tony Li »

Sounds good. If you can wait for version 2.0.5, which I am trying to release by the end of the week, it will have these two features:
  • Quest Journal UI: Always Expand All Groups. When opening quest journal UI, all groups will be expanded.
  • Quest Journal UI: Show Details On Focus. When hovering mouse over quest name, it will show the quest details in the right-hand panel.
GorkaGames
Posts: 178
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 8:38 pm

Re: Showing / Hidding UI

Post by GorkaGames »

Great!!
I'll give you more feedback so it may help you to release more features. I really appreciate it. Is there any place where we can have a look what is coming new on 2.05?
One its the following (It may be acomplished with your actual version but I don't know how).

Now you can abandon quests, and thats really good, but it would be great if you can have the option of only having ONE quest active (and tracked) at one time, and the rest are on the journal waiting to be tracked. As soon as you select one (track) the rest of them got untracked. Its the way Origin and Odissey work and I really like that configuration. On that way you just focus on one quest all the time (included the HUD) and you can always go to the Journal to track another one (You can only have one tracked) so the one you had before got untracked automatically. All the new quests you accept or got automatically go to the journal in untracked mode and you can always go back to review them and choose one of them.

Just my thoughts :)
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21925
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Showing / Hidding UI

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Here is the public roadmap. Purple items should be in the next release. I added your journal suggestions. I won't have time to implement your suggestion above into version 1.0.8, but I'll try to release a version 1.0.9 soon after that has that feature and some of the other yellow items.
GorkaGames
Posts: 178
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 8:38 pm

Re: Showing / Hidding UI

Post by GorkaGames »

Great, any news about the random key for the savers? I don't see it on the roadmap
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21925
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Showing / Hidding UI

Post by Tony Li »

Yes, it's done. I update the public roadmap manually, and I sometimes forget to add things.
Post Reply