[SOLVED] Question about Articy Instructions

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
hellwalker
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 11:37 pm

[SOLVED] Question about Articy Instructions

Post by hellwalker »

Hey,
I have a dialogue UI with continue button. And I have a setup in Articy where NPC line is followed by instruction node:
Image
And this is how it looks in DS editor:
Image

what happens now is when NPC line is shown, but before I click continue button, the code in Instruction node will run.
Is this how it's supposed to work? If so, how do I run something after continue button has been clicked? With empty Dialogue Node with Continue() sequence?
Last edited by hellwalker on Sun Sep 09, 2018 2:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22057
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Question about Articy Instructions

Post by Tony Li »

That's a bug. I'll fix it today.

It has to do with the way group nodes work. The Dialogue System has to evaluate one level ahead to know how to handle certain continue button modes. This means it has to process Group nodes to check their children.

The articy importer should not convert instructions to Group nodes. Instead, I'll update the importer to convert them as nodes with empty Dialogue Text and and Sequence set to None(). This will be for version 2.x. If you're using version 1.x, the workaround is to add an empty node:

Image
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22057
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Question about Articy Instructions

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

If you want only the fix, you can import this package:

ArticyConverter_2018-09-09.unitypackage

Instructions and Jumps are no longer treated as group nodes.

If you want the full 2018-09-09 patch for version 2.0.4, it's on the Pixel Crushers customer download site. (PM me your Asset Store invoice number if you need access.)
Patch 2018-09-09 Release Notes
  • Fixed: Lua math.random(x) now correctly return values [1..x] instead of [0..x].
  • Fixed: TextMesh Pro Typewriter Effect wasn’t using alternate audio clips.
  • Input Device Manager: Added Control Graphic Raycasters checkbox.
  • Standard & Unity UI dialogue UIs & quest log windows: Added Add EventSystem If Needed checkbox.
  • articy:draft: Instructions and Jumps are now converted as blank nodes with None() sequences instead of Group nodes.
  • Invector Controller: Added vAddItemByID() Lua function.
hellwalker
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 11:37 pm

Re: Question about Articy Instructions

Post by hellwalker »

Ah cool thanks! I'll grab the patch, I have access.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22057
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Question about Articy Instructions

Post by Tony Li »

As always, make a backup first, just to be on the safe side. :-)
Post Reply