Delay and script is not working

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
Waru_GameDev
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2019 12:24 pm

Delay and script is not working

Post by Waru_GameDev »

Hi! Long time no posting here!
I am using the dialogue system to make cinematics.
I have setting the Always continue button and I am using text mesh animator.
The thing I am using script but for some reason the delay is not working is like the continue() sequence ignore them.

https://prnt.sc/7QlMU21fCHC5

after that i have the node with the script, that works but ignore the delay

https://prnt.sc/dBUjtfv1B5a7

What is the best setting?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22904
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Delay and script is not working

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

All commands will try to run immediately unless you provide "@" timing information.

The first node's Sequence is:

Code: Select all

require Delay(5);
Continue()
The "require Delay(5)" and "Continue()" commands will both run immediately as soon as the conversation reaches that node. This means the conversation will immediately continue.

Use this instead:

Code: Select all

Continue()@5
This will make the node continue at the 5-second mark.

If you want the second node to continue immediately, set its sequence to:

Code: Select all

Continue()
Waru_GameDev
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2019 12:24 pm

Re: Delay and script is not working

Post by Waru_GameDev »

That worked! thanks!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22904
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Delay and script is not working

Post by Tony Li »

Glad to help!
Waru_GameDev
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2019 12:24 pm

Re: Delay and script is not working

Post by Waru_GameDev »

Hi! sorry bothering you
Image
This is working, but I don't know if the best system is.

If you have some advice I will be glad!

Best regards!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22904
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Delay and script is not working

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Since all of the SetExpression() commands have "@2", they will all run at the same time. If you want them to run 2 seconds apart, change the Sequence to:

Code: Select all

Delay(2);
SetExpression(Izquierda)@4;
SetExpression(Derecha)@6;
SetExpression(Izquierda)@8;
SetExpression(Derecha)@10;
SetExpression(Izquierda)@12;
required SetExpression(Derecha)@14;
Continue()@14
Post Reply