ConversationPopup Attribute not allowing for separate Databases

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
SummonerHolly
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2021 3:09 pm

ConversationPopup Attribute not allowing for separate Databases

Post by SummonerHolly »

Hey, merry almost Christmas!

Working with the amazing Dialogue System and found the ConversationPopup attribute for use in the Inspector and it's going to make working with the system so much easier for me. Dropdowns tickle a part of my brain so I love this function!

Unfortunately I don't seem to be able to select different Databases as dropdowns without it changing any other instances of this in the scene.

This may be because I'm serializing a class and creating instances of it (image attached) so it's becoming global as a class-setting rather than allowing instance specific unique settings?

---

EDIT: Just noticed as well this causes a crash on launch with the following callstack:

Code: Select all

Could not find the member 'm_PropertyDrawer' on internal Unity type 'UnityEditor.PropertyHandler'; cannot correctly set internal Unity state for drawing of custom Unity property drawers - drawers which call EditorGUI.PropertyField or EditorGUILayout.PropertyField will be drawn partially twice.
UnityEngine.Debug:LogError (object)
Sirenix.OdinInspector.Editor.UnityPropertyHandlerUtility:CouldNotFindMemberError (System.Type,string)
This also resets the field to a different database than the one specified.

--=

Code: Select all

    public class Interactions
    { 
        [Header("Interaction Details")]
        [Sirenix.OdinInspector.ReadOnly] public int InteractionID;
        [Sirenix.OdinInspector.ReadOnly] public InteractionHandler thisHandler;

        [Header("Interaction Type")]
        public InteractionType interactionType;
        public string InteractionName;
        [ConversationPopup(true)] public List<string> Conversations = new List<string>();
        public bool ActiveAction;
        public bool Locked;
        
        public enum InteractionType
        {
            Chat,
            SpendTime,
            StaffAction,
            StaffActionTime,
            Leave
        }     
    }
Attachments
Screenshot 2024-12-23 181533.png
Screenshot 2024-12-23 181533.png (100.11 KiB) Viewed 579 times
Screenshot 2024-12-23 181313 2.png
Screenshot 2024-12-23 181313 2.png (176.23 KiB) Viewed 580 times
Screenshot 2024-12-23 181250.png
Screenshot 2024-12-23 181250.png (43.2 KiB) Viewed 580 times
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22901
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: ConversationPopup Attribute not allowing for separate Databases

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Odin sometimes doesn't play nice with custom inspector code, such as some of the custom inspector code that the Dialogue System uses.

For the error, it may help to separate the Conversations lists into a separate class. You may also want to report this error to Sirenix since they'll want to fix it in Odin.

The [ConversationPopup] attribute doesn't save any state (i.e., which database is assigned to populate the dropdown choices). It only sets the variable's string value. If a scene with a Dialogue Manager GameObject is open, ConversationPopup defaults to showing the conversations in the Dialogue Manager's Initial Database field. Since it doesn't save any state, if you assign a database to the ConversationPopup in the current inspector view, all ConversationPopups in the current inspector view will use that database for the dropdown menu. I recognize that it's a hassle, but to pick a conversation from another database you'll need to assign the other database to the ConversationPopup in the inspector to update the dropdown choices.
SummonerHolly
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2021 3:09 pm

Re: ConversationPopup Attribute not allowing for separate Databases

Post by SummonerHolly »

Thanks for the response Tony!

Ah nice note, I'll report this bug to Sirenix., hopefully just means I need to update my Unity version!

RE the Conversation Popup honestly this is probably a really good excuse to do what I wanted to do anyway.

My solution now is to only use the one database for all of my dialogue and reference that but keep other databases just for building out conversations/templates and then just merging that into the master database

This way I can use a filter to quickly search through what would have been a different database anyway - and now I don't need to worry about initialising multiple databases at launch or in code, which seemed to be something that might cause me some issues anyway based on my approach/logic with coding in general.

Appreciate you might not need the waffle, but leaving here incase this helps someone else!

Thanks again, and appreciate the dedication!
Attachments
Screenshot 2024-12-23 221334.png
Screenshot 2024-12-23 221334.png (38.65 KiB) Viewed 561 times
Untitled.png
Untitled.png (21.74 KiB) Viewed 561 times
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22901
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: ConversationPopup Attribute not allowing for separate Databases

Post by Tony Li »

Glad to help! If you run into any other issues or questions with this, please let me know.
Post Reply