Set conditions from my own C#

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
GSaloun
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2024 4:45 pm

Set conditions from my own C#

Post by GSaloun »

Hello,

I'm using Dialogue System connecting with my scripts in C# and with your help i now can edit variables of my scripts directly from a conversation in Dialogue System. My problem now is that i can't setup a condition in Dialogue System using the same variables from my Scripts.

What is the line of code that i need to use in the condition (inside the conversation) to activate the dialogue for example if the "GetKey" is true or if "MaxHealth" is equal to 10?

Below is the code in my script that i'm referring above:

void OnEnable()
{
Lua.RegisterFunction(nameof(MaxHealth), this, SymbolExtensions.GetMethodInfo(() => MaxHealth(0)));
Lua.RegisterFunction(nameof(GetKey), this, SymbolExtensions.GetMethodInfo(() => GetKey(true)));
}

Thanks!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22104
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Set conditions from my own C#

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

That looks good (assuming the C# functions do what you expect). Although maybe GetKey() doesn't need to receive a bool value? Now you just need to set the dialogue entry's Conditions to:

Code: Select all

GetKey(true) == true or MaxHealth() == 10
GSaloun
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2024 4:45 pm

Re: Set conditions from my own C#

Post by GSaloun »

Hi,

Thanks for your help!

Sorry, i try this, but nothing happens. I think the problem is my function, basically i'm using it to change a bool value and work well setting up by Dialogue System, but using for condition isn't working.

Below is my function:

public void SetMaxHealth(double value) { maxHealth += (int)value; }
public void GetKey (bool value) { getKey = (bool)value; }

void OnEnable()
{
Lua.RegisterFunction(nameof(MaxHealth), this, SymbolExtensions.GetMethodInfo(() => MaxHealth(0)));
Lua.RegisterFunction(nameof(GetKey), this, SymbolExtensions.GetMethodInfo(() => GetKey(true)));
}

The result using the Script inside a conversation in Dialogue System, works well as following:

"GetKey(true)" results in makes the getKey bool change to "true".
"MaxHealth(1)" results in adding 1 into MaxHealth value.

My goal now is use this same variables "getKey" and "maxHealth" as condition to keep the conversation, but i don't know how.

Can you help me? Thanks again!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22104
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Set conditions from my own C#

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

For MaxHealth, I recommend using this technique: How To: Connect C# Variables to Dialogue System's Lua

If there's only one key, you can do the same thing for SetKey and GetKey. Otherwise you can pass a number, for example, to specify which key.

Example:

Code: Select all

public int health = 100;
public HashSet<int> keys = new HashSet<int>();

private void OnEnable()
{
    Lua.RegisterFunction(nameof(SetHealth), this, SymbolExtensions.GetMethodInfo(() => SetHealth(0)));
    Lua.RegisterFunction(nameof(GetHealth), this, SymbolExtensions.GetMethodInfo(() => GetHealth()));
    Lua.RegisterFunction(nameof(AcquireKey), this, SymbolExtensions.GetMethodInfo(() => AcquireKey(0)));
    Lua.RegisterFunction(nameof(HasKey), this, SymbolExtensions.GetMethodInfo(() => HasKey(0)));
}

private void SetHealth(double value) { health = (int)value; }
private double GetHealth() { return health; }

private void AcquireKey(double value) { keys.Add((int)value); }
private bool HasKey(double value) { return keys.Contains((int)value); }
In your Script fields, you can set health and keys like this:

Code: Select all

SetHealth(100);
AcquireKey(1);
And in Conditions you can check it like this:

Code: Select all

GetHealth() > 10 and HasKey(1)
Post Reply