How to talk on a timeline

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21965
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: How to talk on a timeline

Post by Tony Li »

The Continue Conversation clip only simulates a continue button click. It doesn't control the duration that the subtitle stays onscreen. Put the Conversation Clip clip where you want to show the next line.

Try leaving the dialogue entry nodes' Sequence fields blank, and set the conversation properties to something like this:

continueClipSetup.png
continueClipSetup.png (57.38 KiB) Viewed 410 times
SBSun
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2022 6:39 pm

Re: How to talk on a timeline

Post by SBSun »

What does @{{end}} mean?

Adding that sequence did not implement the functionality I wanted.

As in the picture above, I want to activate the UI while the clip is in progress and deactivate it when finished. A clip is an Entry.

There are 4 entries like the first picture, and the 2nd picture also has 4 clips including the Start Conversation clip.

I hope that the first entry is output due to the Start Conversation Clip and the UI is deactivated between clips.

What I want is that the UI is not deactivated when the last entry ends, but after each entry activates the UI for a set period of time, it is deactivated when the time expires, and then gives a Deal until the next entry, so that the UI is activated by moving to the next entry.
Attachments
2.PNG
2.PNG (109.6 KiB) Viewed 409 times
1.PNG
1.PNG (82.85 KiB) Viewed 409 times
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21965
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: How to talk on a timeline

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

This example scene contains two examples:

DS_TimelineContinueExample_2022-10-11.unitypackage

The first example uses the Basic Standard Dialogue UI. The entire UI is only visible while showing a subtitle.

The second example uses the Letterbox Dialogue UI. The black bars are visible for the entire timeline, but the subtitle text is only visible while showing the subtitle.
SBSun
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2022 6:39 pm

Re: How to talk on a timeline

Post by SBSun »

Thank you so much for making your own example. I think I set the same by looking at the example, but I still don't get the UI disabled.

These are pictures of the DialogueSystem setup for my current project. Do you have any problems with these photos?
Attachments
3.PNG
3.PNG (71.3 KiB) Viewed 404 times
2.PNG
2.PNG (70.65 KiB) Viewed 404 times
1.PNG
1.PNG (167.79 KiB) Viewed 404 times
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21965
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: How to talk on a timeline

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Please try setting the conversation's Override Display Settings > Sequence Settings > Default Sequence to:

Code: Select all

SetDialoguePanel(true); SetDialoguePanel(false)@{{end}}
I meant to leave the example scene set to this value, but I accidentally left it set to HidePanel(0)@{{end}}.

setDialoguePanelFalse.png
setDialoguePanelFalse.png (19.31 KiB) Viewed 403 times
SBSun
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2022 6:39 pm

Re: How to talk on a timeline

Post by SBSun »

oh! UI enable, disable works fine. However, in the default sequence, 'SetDialoguePanel(true); After adding the 'SetDialoguePanel(false)@{{end}}' syntax, I added Delay(3) to the sequence of the entry and tried to run it, but the Delay function does not work and the UI is not deactivated.

Why is Delay not running? I want to set the execution time of entries to a desired time.
Attachments
캡처.PNG
캡처.PNG (74.52 KiB) Viewed 403 times
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21965
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: How to talk on a timeline

Post by Tony Li »

To show the node for 3 seconds, you can set that node's Sequence to:

Code: Select all

SetDialoguePanel(true);
SetDialoguePanel(false)@3
The value of {{end}} is based on the text length and Subtitle Settings > Subtitle Chars Per Second and Min Subtitle Seconds.

Some alternatives:

- If you use a typewriter effect, you can hide the UI 1 second after the typewriter is done:

Code: Select all

SetDialoguePanel(true);
Delay(1)@Message(Typed)->Message(Hide);
SetDialoguePanel(false)@Message(Hide)
- If you play voice audio, you can hide the UI when the voice acting is done:

Code: Select all

SetDialoguePanel(true);
AudioWait(entrytaglocal)->Message(Hide);
SetDialoguePanel(false)@Message(Hide)
SBSun
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2022 6:39 pm

Re: How to talk on a timeline

Post by SBSun »

Oh thank you!

But a problem arose. When one Conversation is finished and you try to start the next Conversation, a warning like the picture is displayed and the conversation cannot be executed. Why?
Attachments
캡처.PNG
캡처.PNG (6.63 KiB) Viewed 395 times
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21965
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: How to talk on a timeline

Post by Tony Li »

Add one more Continue Conversation clip at the end. This will end the conversation.
SBSun
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2022 6:39 pm

Re: How to talk on a timeline

Post by SBSun »

Thank you for answer.

Sorry, but one more problem has arisen...

There are three Enemys in the scene, and each Enemy speaks to itself. One person executes self-talk that is executed due to the timeline, and the other two execute self-talk as a Script.

However, as you can see from the above articles, the Conversation executed in the Timeline has a Default Sequence.
SetDialoguePanel(true); Set to SetDialoguePanel(false)@2.

Normally, it runs due to Continue Clip and should be deactivated after 2 seconds, but when all three of those Enemys are activated, sometimes a dialogue should be output due to Continue Clip, but sometimes there is no output, and there is a bug that turns off immediately after 1 second instead of 2 seconds. There was.

However, when I disable the other two Enemy and run it, it runs normally according to the timeline.

May I know why?
Post Reply