How to talk on a timeline

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
SBSun
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2022 6:39 pm

How to talk on a timeline

Post by SBSun »

I watched the video from the link

It was implemented using the Conversation Track in the video. I also tried to use the Conversation Track, but I have a question because there is no track that can be created.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21965
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: How to talk on a timeline

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Open the Welcome Window (menu item Tools > Pixel Crushers > Dialogue System > Welcome Window). Then tick the USE_TIMELINE checkbox. This will make the Start Conversation and Continue Conversation clips available.
SBSun
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2022 6:39 pm

Re: How to talk on a timeline

Post by SBSun »

I am currently implementing self-talk with the timeline.

When I start a conversation, the UI is still active, is it possible to only activate within the ContinueConvesationClip like in the picture and disable the UI until the next ContinueConvesationClip is reached?
Attachments
캡처.PNG
캡처.PNG (37.33 KiB) Viewed 461 times
SBSun
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2022 6:39 pm

Re: How to talk on a timeline

Post by SBSun »

Is it possible to use only Convesions in the DB assigned to the Initial Database?

Can I have conversations with Conversations belonging to different DBs at the same time?
Attachments
캡처.PNG
캡처.PNG (17.21 KiB) Viewed 461 times
1.PNG
1.PNG (5.93 KiB) Viewed 461 times
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21965
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: How to talk on a timeline

Post by Tony Li »

Yes, you can use multiple databases. Please see: Working With Multiple Databases, in particular the Unique ID Tool and Extra Databases sections.
SBSun
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2022 6:39 pm

Re: How to talk on a timeline

Post by SBSun »

Thanks for the reply!

Can you answer the above question as well?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21965
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: How to talk on a timeline

Post by Tony Li »

> Is it possible to use only Conversations in the DB assigned to the Initial Database?

No; it will use all databases that you have added. When the Dialogue System starts, it will load the Initial Database into an in-memory database referenced by DialogueManager.masterDatabase. If you use Extra Databases components, they will add the databases' content to DialogueManager.managerDatabase. When the Dialogue System tries to start a conversation, it will look for the conversation title in DialogueManager.masterDatabase.

> Can I have conversations with Conversations belonging to different DBs at the same time?

Yes. This is because DialogueManager.masterDatabase is a single database in memory.
SBSun
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2022 6:39 pm

Re: How to talk on a timeline

Post by SBSun »

SBSun wrote: Sun Oct 09, 2022 2:42 am I am currently implementing self-talk with the timeline.

When I start a conversation, the UI is still active, is it possible to only activate within the ContinueConvesationClip like in the picture and disable the UI until the next ContinueConvesationClip is reached?

The question I'm talking about is this question
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21965
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: How to talk on a timeline

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

If you set a subtitle panel's Visibility to Only During Content, it will only appear while the subtitle is showing -- that is, while the subtitle's sequence is playing. For example, if the Sequence field is set to: "Delay(3)", the subtitle will appear for 3 seconds and then disappear. When a Sequence field is blank, the subtitle will play the Dialogue Manager's Camera & Cutscene Settings > Default Sequence.

Note: The dialogue UI's main Dialogue Panel will still be active. In many of the prefab dialogue UIs, such as Basic Standard Dialogue UI and Letterbox Dialogue UI, the Dialogue Panel doesn't show any content. However, if you're using a dialogue UI whose Dialogue Panel shows content even when it's not showing a subtitle or response menu, you can set the SetDialoguePanel() sequencer command to hide it.
SBSun
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2022 6:39 pm

Re: How to talk on a timeline

Post by SBSun »

What I want is the ability to show the dialog while the clip is in progress and disable the UI when the clip is finished.

1. If you look at pictures 1 and 2
I want the conversation to be active while the Continue Conversation Clip is in progress, and only the UI to be deactivated when finished, and wait for the next conversation. Delay, WaitForMessage, etc. are just a means to move on to the next conversation and do not disable the UI.

2. And what is the Duration of Continue Conversation Clip? I thought the conversation would proceed as long as the clip length, but if you don't set the sequence, it just cuts off in the middle. Is there a way to activate the dialog UI as much as the length of the clip?

3. If I set WaitForMessage(Forever) in the sequence, is it correct to move to the next entry when the next Continue Conversation Clip starts?

To summarize, the function I want is to move to the next entry when the Continue Conversation Clip starts and activate the dialog UI only for the duration of the clip, and when the clip ends, I want to disable the UI only until the next clip starts without the conversation ending.
Attachments
1.PNG
1.PNG (88.4 KiB) Viewed 430 times
3.PNG
3.PNG (79.64 KiB) Viewed 430 times
2.PNG
2.PNG (194.12 KiB) Viewed 430 times
Post Reply