quick noob question

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
CristalSonic
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2022 9:37 am

quick noob question

Post by CristalSonic »

Hi all,
how can I set the dialog to only advance with button presses ? ( I am sure I am over looking that)
other wise is there a list of variable uses any were ?
things like number are obvious. but I would like to see examples of things like Item or location.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21981
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: quick noob question

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,
CristalSonic wrote: Tue Feb 08, 2022 9:42 amhow can I set the dialog to only advance with button presses ?
Inspect the Dialogue Manager GameObject. Change the Display Settings > Subtitle Settings > Continue Button dropdown to Always.
CristalSonic wrote: Tue Feb 08, 2022 9:42 amother wise is there a list of variable uses any were ?
things like number are obvious. but I would like to see examples of things like Item or location.
You can view variables' runtime values in the Dialogue Editor's Watches section or the separate Variable View window. The Variable View only shows variables -- that is, things you've added in the Dialogue Editor's Variables section. The Watches section can show item field values, quest field values, etc., too.
CristalSonic
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2022 9:37 am

Re: quick noob question

Post by CristalSonic »

that was a quick response, thanks

I was hoping for use case examples, as I like to get a feel for their purpose.
such as why is there an Item data type when I can just have a counter for a collectable item etc.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21981
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: quick noob question

Post by Tony Li »

The real reason is because the Dialogue System uses the same data structure as an authoring application called Chat Mapper.

Chat Mapper has items and locations, so the Dialogue System has items and locations. The Dialogue System doesn't do anything with items or locations, but it does repurpose the Items section to also use them for quests.

Most designers don't do anything with locations or items except use the Items section for quests.

Variables are more handy for things like counters. Tip: You can include a '.' in a variable name to group it into a submenu. For example, you could define variables Village.Weather, Village.Population, Village.Mood, etc., and they would all be grouped in the submenu "Village".
CristalSonic
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2022 9:37 am

Re: quick noob question

Post by CristalSonic »

ok that makes sense, one other question.
after setting to text to not always auto play I found I could only advance with mouse clicks.
keybord and controller input does not work.

I tryed the sensor but no luck
Attachments
ScreenShot_20220212005837.png
ScreenShot_20220212005837.png (23.53 KiB) Viewed 280 times
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21981
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: quick noob question

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Tick the Dialogue Manager GameObject's Input Device Manager component > Always Auto Focus checkbox.

If that doesn't address the problem, check the scene's EventSystem GameObject for any issues.
Post Reply