Setting up multiple Dialogue UI's questions

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
eeeli
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2021 4:54 pm

Setting up multiple Dialogue UI's questions

Post by eeeli »

Hello,

I have a few questions relating to setting up and using multiple dialogue UI's in a single scene.

1. How to skip PC subtitles for some dialogue UI but not others. There's a dialogue UI which simulates SMS messages, and needs the PC subtitles to appear in order to record them in the text chat. However, for non-text messaging I don't want the PC subtitles to appear because they're redundant. I see how to toggle the option in the master Dialogue Manager, but I can't find a setting that's specific to individual Dialogue UIs.

2. How to set it up such that the player's response menu is in one Dialogue UI, but the NPC's subtitles are in another. In this situation I want to model a phone call on an in game phone. Previously the player's responses have all been in the phone screen - which is a dialogue UI. However, I'd like it to be that the player's responses appear over-layed in a canvas, outside of the phone, and that the phone only contains the NPC subtitles.

Thanks so much in advance!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21981
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Setting up multiple Dialogue UI's questions

Post by Tony Li »

eeeli wrote: Wed Jan 26, 2022 10:29 am1. How to skip PC subtitles for some dialogue UI but not others. There's a dialogue UI which simulates SMS messages, and needs the PC subtitles to appear in order to record them in the text chat. However, for non-text messaging I don't want the PC subtitles to appear because they're redundant. I see how to toggle the option in the master Dialogue Manager, but I can't find a setting that's specific to individual Dialogue UIs.
There are two ways to do this:

1. In the Dialogue Editor, inspect the conversation's properties. Tick Override Display Settings > Subtitle Settings. Then show PC subtitles.

2. Or add an Override Display Settings component to one of the primary participant GameObjects (e.g., Dialogue System Trigger's Conversation Actor or Conversation Conversant). This lets you use an entirely different set of Display Settings from the ones on the Dialogue Manager.
eeeli wrote: Wed Jan 26, 2022 10:29 am2. How to set it up such that the player's response menu is in one Dialogue UI, but the NPC's subtitles are in another. In this situation I want to model a phone call on an in game phone. Previously the player's responses have all been in the phone screen - which is a dialogue UI. However, I'd like it to be that the player's responses appear over-layed in a canvas, outside of the phone, and that the phone only contains the NPC subtitles.
For any given conversation, the subtitle panels and response menu must be in the same dialogue UI -- that is, the dialoge UI's Standard Dialogue UI component must point to the subtitle panels and response menu used in the conversation. However, those subtitle panels and response menu can be in different Canvases.
eeeli
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2021 4:54 pm

Re: Setting up multiple Dialogue UI's questions

Post by eeeli »

Hi Tony,

Thanks for the quick reply!

1. I've got it working using an Override Display Settings. Thanks! It's been a minute since I worked on this project, and I'd forgotten about the overrides.

2. Thanks! I think I understand the basic structure of how to go about setting this up now - keeping a unified reference of one Dialogue UI but splitting it out between different canvas. I think I should be good from there. Thank you!
eeeli
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2021 4:54 pm

Re: Setting up multiple Dialogue UI's questions

Post by eeeli »

I have a small follow up question, not related to the previous inquires.

I was wondering if there's a way to sort conversations in the Dialogue Editor alphabetically. There's starting to become a decent amount of conversations, and sifting through them can be a little time consuming.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21981
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Setting up multiple Dialogue UI's questions

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Yes. In the Dialogue Editor's Conversations section, select Menu > Sort > By Title.

Also, use forward slashes to group your conversations into submenus.

You can also manually reorder conversations by selecting Menu > Outline Mode. This will switch from a node-based canvas to a reorderable list of conversation titles.
eeeli
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2021 4:54 pm

Re: Setting up multiple Dialogue UI's questions

Post by eeeli »

Amazing! That's perfect :D
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21981
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Setting up multiple Dialogue UI's questions

Post by Tony Li »

Glad to help! :-)
eeeli
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2021 4:54 pm

Re: Setting up multiple Dialogue UI's questions

Post by eeeli »

Hi Tony,

Another follow up question, as I'm running into a different issue while implementing these dialogue UI's.

In my response menu the scroll bar doesn't move to focus on the currently selected response. I'm using the Standard Dialogue UI setup, with minor visual tweaks currently - text changes and swapping out background sprites.

The responses are being selected as I'd expect - using keyboard or gamepad controls, but the scrollbar doesn't seem to update as new responses are selected. Any help would be appreciated.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21981
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Setting up multiple Dialogue UI's questions

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

The Menu Framework package on the Dialogue System Extras page has a ScrollToMe script. You can import that script (you don't have to import the entire Menu Framework) and add it to your response button. When a response button is selected (focused), it will automatically scroll the scrollbar so that button is in view.
eeeli
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2021 4:54 pm

Re: Setting up multiple Dialogue UI's questions

Post by eeeli »

Brilliant! Worked perfectly. As always thank you so much for the help :D
Post Reply