Cutscenes freezing

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
igorsandman
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2021 9:50 am

Cutscenes freezing

Post by igorsandman »

Hello,
I'm having an issue with my sequences. They freezes without an error/warning message.
Here is an example of a sequence that doesn't work.
sequence_issue1.jpg
sequence_issue1.jpg (123.22 KiB) Viewed 1227 times
This fades out, then it fades back in, then freezes.

To try and pin point the issue, I'm modifying it bit by bit. Sometimes it freezes, some times it doesn't, but I haven't been able to track the source of the issue.
Here is an example of a modification of the same sequence that works without freezing.
sequence_issue2.jpg
sequence_issue2.jpg (111.66 KiB) Viewed 1227 times
I'm thinking it might have something to do with the fade.

Do you have any idea where I should look?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21987
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Cutscenes freezing

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

The sequence looks fine for the most part. Some side notes first:

I recommend using Fade(stay) instead of Fade(out). Fade(stay) is like Fade(out) except it keeps the black cover over the screen when it's done. Sequencer commands that run at the same time mark may run in any order. So it's possible that Fade(in) could run before AnimatorBool(). It probably doesn't matter in this case, but it's just a general idea to keep in mind.

Similarly, Continue()@5 and SetContinueMode(true)@5 have the same time mark. It's possible that Continue() will run first, which will stop the sequence. In this case, if Continue() runs first, SetContinueMode(true) won't run at all since the sequence has been stopped. To ensure that SetContinueMode(true) runs, add the keyword 'required' in front:

Code: Select all

required SetContinueMode(true)@5;
Continue()@5
In fact, that might be the cause of the issue, depending on what you mean by freezing.

If not, try narrowing down to a simpler sequence that can still reproduce the issue. Set the Dialogue Manager's Other Settings > Debug Level to Info. When you reproduce the issue, trace through the logs in the Console window. Each sequencer command will have two log lines.

The first line indicates that the sequencer command has been added to the queue to run at a certain time, such as:

Dialogue System: Sequencer.Play( Fade(in)@1 )

The second line appears when the command actually runs:

Dialogue System: Sequencer: Fade(in)

If you don't see the second line, then it's probably being cut short (for example, by Continue()).
igorsandman
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2021 9:50 am

Re: Cutscenes freezing

Post by igorsandman »

Thanks to your debugging recommendation, I found the issue.

My character was too far from the cutscene object. The Debug Info said the distance exceeded 5. I didn't know there was a limit.
Now I position my characters through code before launching my cutscenes and it works like charm.

Thanks for the help!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21987
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Cutscenes freezing

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

If you've ticked the Dialogue System Trigger's Actions > Start Conversation > Stop Conversation If Too Far or Stop Conversation On Trigger Exit, you can untick those options. Then it won't do any distance checks.
Post Reply