SetContinueMode Forcing Conversation to Auto Progress

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
jae026
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 10:22 pm

Re: SetContinueMode Forcing Conversation to Auto Progress

Post by jae026 »

OKay, so It is still loading the wrong scene. I am calling this.

Code: Select all

    
    public void LoadLevel()
    {
        Debug.LogError("Loading Scene " + _sceneToLoad.value);

        PixelCrushers.SaveSystem.LoadScene(_sceneToLoad.value);
    }
My setup is that I have a single transition scene. its just a hallway and when you get to the end and walk through a trigger it calls LoadLevel();

The value _sceneToLoad.value is a scriptable object and the value is set in the previous scene. At the end of Chapter 1 it sets _sceneToLoad.value to Chapter 2 and at the end of Chapter 2 it sets _sceneToLoad.value to Chapter 3 and so on. So when the player enters the transition level the _sceneToLoad.value is already set from the previous level.

I have debugerror statements in my dev build that tell me what levels are going to be loaded next and what level is currently loading. It shows the correct level to load next but when LoadLevel is called t loadsa the previously saved level instead of the level from the _sceneToLoad.value. Which is already verified to be correct.
jae026
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 10:22 pm

Re: SetContinueMode Forcing Conversation to Auto Progress

Post by jae026 »

Also, I am not loading a saved game. I am starting from a fresh build.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22049
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: SetContinueMode Forcing Conversation to Auto Progress

Post by Tony Li »

Hmm, if you Debug.LogError line reports the correct scene name to load, then SaveSystem.LoadScene will load that scene.

Have you assigned a scene to the Save System's Standard Scene Transition Manager component > Loading Scene field? If so, try leaving that field blank.

Is it possible that it's loading the correct scene but then something in the newly-loaded scene is causing it to immediately load another scene?
jae026
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 10:22 pm

Re: SetContinueMode Forcing Conversation to Auto Progress

Post by jae026 »

Trying that now.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22049
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: SetContinueMode Forcing Conversation to Auto Progress

Post by Tony Li »

If that doesn't help, please feel free to send a reproduction project to tony (at) pixelcrushers.com.
jae026
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 10:22 pm

Re: SetContinueMode Forcing Conversation to Auto Progress

Post by jae026 »

Should I be setting Continue Mode to false on the nodes that load level. IF I press the progress conversation button when it starts loading level it ends the conversation and freezes the game.
jae026
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 10:22 pm

Re: SetContinueMode Forcing Conversation to Auto Progress

Post by jae026 »

I sent you a repo just incase this doesnt work
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22049
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: SetContinueMode Forcing Conversation to Auto Progress

Post by Tony Li »

Thanks; I'm downloading the repro project now.

You can either turn off continue mode or just use the Continue() sequencer command. Example:

Code: Select all

required LoadLevel("Some Scene");
Continue()
The 'required' keyword guarantees that LoadLevel() runs even if the Continue() command happens to run just before LoadLevel(). Since neither has timing information (e.g., Continue()@8 or whatever), they will both run at the same time as soon as the dialogue entry plays.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22049
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: SetContinueMode Forcing Conversation to Auto Progress

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

If that doesn't work and you'd like me to look at the reproduction project, please provide the exact steps I should follow to reproduce the issue. Thanks!
jae026
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 10:22 pm

Re: SetContinueMode Forcing Conversation to Auto Progress

Post by jae026 »

I think I figured out the last issue. However, I do need help with 1 more thing. If you run the scne Chapter 3 and get to the end (which isn't long), there is a conversation where the entire contents of the dialogue text does not show up in the speech bubble. I can't figure out why.
Post Reply