Hide and show dialogue box between each entries

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
alex89
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2020 12:45 pm

Hide and show dialogue box between each entries

Post by alex89 »

Hello!

I'm implementing my own UI in onConversationLine in order to setup the position of the dialogue box (like final fantasy 9, for example).

What I'm trying to achieve is to have the dialogue box play the dismiss animation every time it completes (via continue button or programmatically). So the next dialogue entry would play the show animation again.

The way I'm implementing this right now is to have a node between each of the actual lines, that is responsible to close the speech bubble.

I was wondering if there was a way to achieve this without the need to create an entry between each conversation line (happy to go down the script path if needed).

Another related question, is that currently the show/hide transitions that I've added should only change the scale of the dialogue box from 0 to 1 and vice versa. However, when the dialogue shows up, I feel like there is a fade in happening at the same time.

I was wondering if there is a way to control that as well? Could it be because the canvas alpha is fading in?

Any help would be much appreciated! :)
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22051
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Hide and show dialogue box between each entries

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Yes. Don't use OnConversationLine. Make your custom UI code implement the IDialogueUI interface.

Or don't write any code, and use the Standard Dialogue UI system. Set Visibility to Only During Content, and tick Wait For Close so it closes between each node.
alex89
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2020 12:45 pm

Re: Hide and show dialogue box between each entries

Post by alex89 »

Thanks a lot Tony, appreciate the quick reply! This should solve it :)

Take care
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22051
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Hide and show dialogue box between each entries

Post by Tony Li »

Glad to help! Wait to Close was added in 2.2.14, so update to the latest version if you haven't already.
alex89
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2020 12:45 pm

Re: Hide and show dialogue box between each entries

Post by alex89 »

Thanks! Will do :)
Post Reply