Timeline Animator Problem
-
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2019 4:45 pm
Timeline Animator Problem
Hi,
i am using a timeline with DS. Thats working fine, the conversations starts and all is good. As the conversation starts the timeline speed is set to 0 and at the end to 1 via Sequence on the nodes.
Now i want to add a sequence to the actors which are animated from timeline.
For example i want to trigger the talk animation. I have added a dialog actor script to the gameobject.
If i call for example AnimatorBool(Talk, true) on the node the dialogs will not be shown from this actor anymore.
The animator of the gameobject shows me that its changing the animator state but the animaton isnt playing.
Other actors are talking, only the one with the sequence have the problem.
Unity 2019.3.0f6 with latest DS
Greets
Billy
i am using a timeline with DS. Thats working fine, the conversations starts and all is good. As the conversation starts the timeline speed is set to 0 and at the end to 1 via Sequence on the nodes.
Now i want to add a sequence to the actors which are animated from timeline.
For example i want to trigger the talk animation. I have added a dialog actor script to the gameobject.
If i call for example AnimatorBool(Talk, true) on the node the dialogs will not be shown from this actor anymore.
The animator of the gameobject shows me that its changing the animator state but the animaton isnt playing.
Other actors are talking, only the one with the sequence have the problem.
Unity 2019.3.0f6 with latest DS
Greets
Billy
Re: Timeline Animator Problem
Hi Billy,
Timeline steals control of animation from any GameObjects assigned to the timeline. You'll need to control that character's animation through Timeline.
Timeline steals control of animation from any GameObjects assigned to the timeline. You'll need to control that character's animation through Timeline.
-
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2019 4:45 pm
Re: Timeline Animator Problem
Hi Tony,
ok that makes sense, but the animation isn`t the real problem.
If the Sequence is activated the dialogs are not be shown from the actor anymore
i have now completely removed the actor from the timeline and the dialog is not shown.
it's like something is happening but you can't see anything - like a placeholder or its not filling the textboxes and so
Edit: ok i paused while conversation and it`s not filling the textbox. seems like a bug
ok that makes sense, but the animation isn`t the real problem.
If the Sequence is activated the dialogs are not be shown from the actor anymore
i have now completely removed the actor from the timeline and the dialog is not shown.
it's like something is happening but you can't see anything - like a placeholder or its not filling the textboxes and so
Edit: ok i paused while conversation and it`s not filling the textbox. seems like a bug
-
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2019 4:45 pm
Re: Timeline Animator Problem
yeah adding a Delay() to the sequence did the trick. dont know why it`s not working without it.
Tip for others: you can free the animator in timeline while the conversation is playing. so you can use the animation sequenes easily with timeline and thats very powerful!
Tip for others: you can free the animator in timeline while the conversation is playing. so you can use the animation sequenes easily with timeline and thats very powerful!
Re: Timeline Animator Problem
Thanks, I understand what you're saying now. A dialogue entry node's subtitle will only be visible for as long as its Sequence lasts, unless you've enabled continue button mode (e.g., Dialogue Manager: Subtitle Settings > Continue Button > Always). In continue button mode, the subtitle remains visible until the player clicks the continue button, or a simulated continue button is clicked such as the Continue Conversation action in Timeline. When using Timeline, many designers enable continue button mode and advance each node by using the Continue Conversation action.
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2021 8:32 pm
Re: Timeline Animator Problem
Hi,
I seem to have a related problem, slightly different though.
I trigger a Timeline(play,,timeline) during in a dialog node which lasts some seconds and when I click continue (yes, I have set Continue Always in the Dialog Manager settings), this dialog node is still showing and it seems so until the timeline finishes. So no matter if I click continue, the dialog is still there (I see the next dialog node in the screen, but when I click continue, I see the previous dialog node there because the timeline did not finish).
Is there a way to override this behavior or change it for this specific dialog node?
Thanks
I seem to have a related problem, slightly different though.
I trigger a Timeline(play,,timeline) during in a dialog node which lasts some seconds and when I click continue (yes, I have set Continue Always in the Dialog Manager settings), this dialog node is still showing and it seems so until the timeline finishes. So no matter if I click continue, the dialog is still there (I see the next dialog node in the screen, but when I click continue, I see the previous dialog node there because the timeline did not finish).
Is there a way to override this behavior or change it for this specific dialog node?
Thanks
Re: Timeline Animator Problem
Hi,
What part is still showing?
When you click the continue button, the subtitle should disappear, and the timeline should stop playing.
What part is still showing?
When you click the continue button, the subtitle should disappear, and the timeline should stop playing.
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2021 8:32 pm
Re: Timeline Animator Problem
Hi,
I could make it work by removing some of the dialogs I had. I wasnt using the integration with the timeline, but triggering a Timeline play from the dialog node, which caused some unexpected behavior (at least for me).
I have another problem though but will open a separate thread because it is completely unrelated to this one.
Thanks
I could make it work by removing some of the dialogs I had. I wasnt using the integration with the timeline, but triggering a Timeline play from the dialog node, which caused some unexpected behavior (at least for me).
I have another problem though but will open a separate thread because it is completely unrelated to this one.
Thanks
Re: Timeline Animator Problem
If you do need to run a timeline from a dialogue entry node, I recommend using the Timeline() sequencer command. It ties the timing of the node and the timeline together better.
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2021 8:32 pm
Re: Timeline Animator Problem
It seems the problem came back again. Just sent you a private message with the video showing the problem.
The dialog is really simple. The issue is that the line "Unfortunately I have more important things to attend" shows twice... or maybe it doesnt disappear in first place and just stays in the background...
One thing that maybe worth mentioning is that the timeline finishes after the dialog... maybe this is causing issues.
Thanks.
The dialog is really simple. The issue is that the line "Unfortunately I have more important things to attend" shows twice... or maybe it doesnt disappear in first place and just stays in the background...
One thing that maybe worth mentioning is that the timeline finishes after the dialog... maybe this is causing issues.
Thanks.
- Attachments
-
- dialog3.PNG (39.63 KiB) Viewed 651 times