How to select different subtitle UI without Dialogue Actor?

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
VoodooDetective
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 10:48 pm

How to select different subtitle UI without Dialogue Actor?

Post by VoodooDetective »

Sorry for all the questions. I'm wondering if there's a way to switch which subtitle UI is used from a c# script. When I open the inventory in my game, I want to be able to click on an item and then have a line spoken by my Player examining the item:

"It's a rubber chicken"

Only, I'd like to be able to specify which subtitle panel is used in my custom UI. In this case there is a dialogue actor, but I don't want the Player to always use this special subtitle UI element because it's setup for viewing when the inventory is open and not for general purpose dialogue.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22055
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: How to select different subtitle UI without Dialogue Actor?

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Yes, you can include the markup tag [panel=#] in your text:

"[panel=3] It's a rubber chicken."

The panel number corresponds to the Standard Dialogue UI component's Subtitle Panels list (0, 1, 2, etc.).

There are other options if that doesn't work for your needs.
VoodooDetective
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 10:48 pm

Re: How to select different subtitle UI without Dialogue Actor?

Post by VoodooDetective »

Oh duh, sorry I missed that. Thank you!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22055
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: How to select different subtitle UI without Dialogue Actor?

Post by Tony Li »

No problem! As you mentioned, there's a lot of code. So please feel free to ask questions. I might be able to save you some digging through documentation.
Post Reply