Invector Inventory Issue

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for Quest Machine.
Post Reply
BSkram
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2019 10:27 am

Invector Inventory Issue

Post by BSkram »

Hi,

Thanks for a sweet system!

I have a little issue when I have a quest where I need to pick up an item. The item is only recognized if it is a weapon from Invector default itemlist and is set to auto equip when I pick it up. If it's the same weapon without auto equip, the quest does not advance.

When I create my own items, nothing happens aswell.

Any ideas what this can be?

Regards
BSkram
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22107
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Invector Inventory Issue

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

How are you checking the inventory?

The Dialogue System's vGetItemCount() Lua function depends on the player's vItemManager component. Make sure your item list data asset is assigned to the vItemManager, and that the quest item is listed in the item list data.

You can also check the result of vGetItemCount() manually at runtime. Add a Lua Console component to the scene. At runtime, press ~+L to open the Lua Console. Then enter:

Code: Select all

return vGetItemCount(#)
where # is the item's ID number.

If that doesn't help, please feel free to send a reproduction project to tony (at) pixelcrushers.com. I'll be happy to take a look.
BSkram
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2019 10:27 am

Re: Invector Inventory Issue

Post by BSkram »

I did not do much more than follow the tutorial for implementing it with Invector.

In the tutorial item ID 12 (shotgun) was used as an example. When I changed it to anything else which was not a weapon, the quest did not recognize it when it was pickd up. (But it was added to the inventory, so the item should work fine).

Regards
BSkram
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22107
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Invector Inventory Issue

Post by Tony Li »

Sorry, I forgot I was in the Quest Machine forum section instead of the Dialogue System section. For Quest Machine, the Quest Machine Extras page has an updated Invector integration package that makes the Invector Has Items Quest Condition check all items, not just equippables.
BSkram
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2019 10:27 am

Re: Invector Inventory Issue

Post by BSkram »

Excelent!

Thanks for the great support! :)
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22107
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Invector Inventory Issue

Post by Tony Li »

Glad to help! The updated quest condition should take care of it. If you notice any issues, just let me know.
Post Reply