Console warnings

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
nivlekius
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 4:39 pm

Console warnings

Post by nivlekius »

Hi,
can you please tell me why I keep getting these warnings?

this is from the main console:

Animator is not playing an AnimatorController
UnityEngine.Animator:SetTrigger(String)
Parameter 'Hide' does not exist.
UnityEngine.Animator:SetTrigger(String)



this is from the more in depth pull out:

PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.SelectorUseStandardUIElements:HideControls() (at Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/Scripts/UI/Standard/Selector/SelectorUseStandardUIElements.cs:153)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.SelectorUseStandardUIElements:DisconnectDelegates() (at Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/Scripts/UI/Standard/Selector/SelectorUseStandardUIElements.cs:96)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.SelectorUseStandardUIElements:ConnectDelegates() (at Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/Scripts/UI/Standard/Selector/SelectorUseStandardUIElements.cs:61)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.SelectorUseStandardUIElements:Start() (at Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/Scripts/UI/Standard/Selector/SelectorUseStandardUIElements.cs:44)

PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.SelectorUseStandardUIElements:HideControls() (at Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/Scripts/UI/Standard/Selector/SelectorUseStandardUIElements.cs:153)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.SelectorUseStandardUIElements:DisconnectDelegates() (at Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/Scripts/UI/Standard/Selector/SelectorUseStandardUIElements.cs:96)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.SelectorUseStandardUIElements:OnDisable() (at Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/Scripts/UI/Standard/Selector/SelectorUseStandardUIElements.cs:56)
Parameter 'Hide' does not exist.
UnityEngine.Animator:SetTrigger(String)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.SelectorUseStandardUIElements:HideControls() (at Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/Scripts/UI/Standard/Selector/SelectorUseStandardUIElements.cs:153)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.SelectorUseStandardUIElements:DisconnectDelegates() (at Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/Scripts/UI/Standard/Selector/SelectorUseStandardUIElements.cs:96)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.SelectorUseStandardUIElements:ConnectDelegates() (at Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/Scripts/UI/Standard/Selector/SelectorUseStandardUIElements.cs:61)
PixelCrushers.DialogueSystem.SelectorUseStandardUIElements:Start() (at Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/Scripts/UI/Standard/Selector/SelectorUseStandardUIElements.cs:44)

it's not causing errors but I'd like to know what's causing it before it does.

Thanks.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22056
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Console warnings

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

This means your Standard UI Selector Elements has an Animator component with no animator controller assigned, and that the Standard UI Selector Elements component's Animation Transitions > Show & Hide values are set (e.g., to "Show" and "Hide").

To get rid of the error:
  • Remove the Animator component
  • Or set the Animation Transitions > Show & Hide values to blank strings
  • Or assign an animator controller with trigger parameters that match the Animation Transitions
Any of those should clear up the error message. The third one will play animations when showing/hiding the selector. The first two will continue to make it work like it does right now, where the selector appears and disappears instantly (i.e., no animation transition).
nivlekius
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 4:39 pm

Re: Console warnings

Post by nivlekius »

Cool, thank you.

One more question. I can't find how to set the name used when the Abandon Quest confirmation window opens. I am obviously using pnc/quest name for the names to keep them organized but I have use [use display name] ticked and it works except for on the confirmation panel. I've looked around but I can't find a setting for it.

Thanks again

Edit- aaaand one more thing. When I have a quest set to abandonable and trackable I lose the option to not track it any longer and the quest tracker window stays up. How do I keep this functionality while also allowing the quest to be abandonable.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22056
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Console warnings

Post by Tony Li »

nivlekius wrote: Sat Mar 16, 2019 12:30 pmI can't find how to set the name used when the Abandon Quest confirmation window opens. I am obviously using pnc/quest name for the names to keep them organized but I have use [use display name] ticked and it works except for on the confirmation panel. I've looked around but I can't find a setting for it.
On one or two quest log window prefabs, this field got unassigned: Abandon Quest Panel > Abandon Quest Title Text. I reassigned them in version 2.1.1. If you're using 2.1.1 or newer and it's not assigned, please let me know what prefab I missed so I can fix it. To fix it yourself, just assign the UI Text element to that field.
nivlekius wrote: Sat Mar 16, 2019 12:30 pmWhen I have a quest set to abandonable and trackable I lose the option to not track it any longer and the quest tracker window stays up. How do I keep this functionality while also allowing the quest to be abandonable.
That should work. Can you explain what's not working?

I just tested the following:
  • Inspected a quest in the Dialogue Editor. Ticked Trackable and Abandonable.
  • Set up a scene with a Basic Standard UI Quest Log Window.
  • Played the scene and opened the quest log window. The track checkbox and Abandon button are both visible.
trackAbandon.png
trackAbandon.png (7.08 KiB) Viewed 1454 times
nivlekius
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 4:39 pm

Re: Console warnings

Post by nivlekius »

OK, I just double check. It doesn't have anything to do with the abandon button I guess, but even though trackable is on, it does not show. I checked in the hierarchy while playing and it is indeed there but it is disabled.

Image

Image

Image


the only difference I could see between these two quests was that one was abandonable. So I'm not sure why shows the tracker button and the other doesn't.
nivlekius
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 4:39 pm

Re: Console warnings

Post by nivlekius »

Oh, and the text is assigned for the abandon quest title text.

Image
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22056
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Console warnings

Post by Tony Li »

It's a bug with Name vs. Display Name. I'll reply with a patch in a few minutes.
nivlekius
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 4:39 pm

Re: Console warnings

Post by nivlekius »

cool, thanks
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22056
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Console warnings

Post by Tony Li »

Here's the patch: DS_QuestLogWindowPatch_2019-03-16.unitypackage

It fixes two issues:

1. Quest tracking checkbox when quest uses a Display Name that's different from the quest's Name field.

2. Abandon quest panel now shows Display Name instead of quest's Name field.

I tested it against version 2.1.2.

I wonder if maybe the abandon text issue that you reported has to do with #2 above. If it doesn't immediately fix the problem, pause the game after clicking the Abandon button. Then inspect the text element (Abandon Quest Name Text). Check if the Text field is set correctly. If so, maybe the Rect Transform needs to be adjusted.
nivlekius
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 4:39 pm

Re: Console warnings

Post by nivlekius »

Working perfectly. Thanks a lot.
You're the best, Tony.

Btw, what country is your family name from? I only ask because I speak Korean (although I have forgotten a lot)
Post Reply