Player input "code" for quest
- supadupa64
- Posts: 200
- Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 9:40 pm
- Contact:
Player input "code" for quest
Is there way for the player to input a code for a quest during a dialogue?
Example: NPC says, "give me the code and I'll give you this gem." There is a space for the player to input a code.
Example: NPC says, "give me the code and I'll give you this gem." There is a space for the player to input a code.
Game I'm working on:
Website: http://www.RuctionGames.com
Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/49682 ... en_Tablet/
Website: http://www.RuctionGames.com
Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/49682 ... en_Tablet/
Re: Player input "code" for quest
Yup. Take a look at the Computer Terminal conversation in the Feature Demo. It runs as a conversation. To log into the terminal, you have to enter a password. If you enter the correct code ("dominate"), the conversation progresses. There's also a separate computer terminal example that might be easier to take apart since it doesn't have all the other conversations and barks that the Feature Demo has. The key is using the TextInput() sequencer command.
- supadupa64
- Posts: 200
- Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 9:40 pm
- Contact:
Re: Player input "code" for quest
I tried to add a NGUITextFieldUI.cs script to my ui object but when I import the third party NGUI 3.x Support package with the scripts I got compiler errors so I had to revert back.
Game I'm working on:
Website: http://www.RuctionGames.com
Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/49682 ... en_Tablet/
Website: http://www.RuctionGames.com
Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/49682 ... en_Tablet/
Re: Player input "code" for quest
Hi,
What GUI system are you using for your dialogue UI? (In other words, what's assigned to your Dialogue Manager's Dialogue UI field? UnityUIDialogueUI, UnityDialogueUI, NGUIDialogueUI, etc.) You only need to import the NGUI support package if you're using NGUI. If your project doesn't have NGUI, the support package won't work.
The Terminal conversation in the Feature Demo uses the legacy GUI system. It doesn't use NGUI.
If you're using UnityUIDialogueUI (the new UI system), text field UIs are built into all of the prefabs. You can examine any of them to see how to set up your own.
If you're using UnityDialogueUI (the legacy GUI system), examine the default prefab in Prefabs/Legacy Unity GUI Prefabs/Default/Resources.
What GUI system are you using for your dialogue UI? (In other words, what's assigned to your Dialogue Manager's Dialogue UI field? UnityUIDialogueUI, UnityDialogueUI, NGUIDialogueUI, etc.) You only need to import the NGUI support package if you're using NGUI. If your project doesn't have NGUI, the support package won't work.
The Terminal conversation in the Feature Demo uses the legacy GUI system. It doesn't use NGUI.
If you're using UnityUIDialogueUI (the new UI system), text field UIs are built into all of the prefabs. You can examine any of them to see how to set up your own.
If you're using UnityDialogueUI (the legacy GUI system), examine the default prefab in Prefabs/Legacy Unity GUI Prefabs/Default/Resources.
- supadupa64
- Posts: 200
- Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 9:40 pm
- Contact:
Re: Player input "code" for quest
Here's what I have for my UI. I don't know if this is the right area or not. I can't see the conversation in the demo, so that doesn't work. I figure it's pretty simple to set this up, I'm just not seeing it.
Game I'm working on:
Website: http://www.RuctionGames.com
Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/49682 ... en_Tablet/
Website: http://www.RuctionGames.com
Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/49682 ... en_Tablet/
Re: Player input "code" for quest
Hi,
Since you're using the Necromancer Dialogue UI (legacy Unity GUI), you should put a legacy Unity GUI "Text Field UI" in it. Don't add a separate new Unity UI Canvas and dialogue UI. (Technically you can do this by using an Override Dialogue UI component, but I don't think that's what you want in this case.)
Here's a version of the Necromancer Dialogue UI that has a Text Field UI: NecroWithTextInput_2016-05-07.unitypackage
It imports as Assets > Dialogue System > Prefabs > Legacy Unity GUI Prefabs > Necromancer > Necromancer Dialogue UI with TextInput.
It has a new child GameObject named Text Field UI. I left the Dialogue Window GameObject active so you can easily see the Text Field UI and customize its appearance to your liking. Then deactivate Dialogue Window so it doesn't obscure your Game view as you're editing your scene.
Or, if you already have a custom dialogue UI, you can just move the Text Field UI to your custom dialogue UI. Make sure it's a child of Dialogue Window.
Since you're using the Necromancer Dialogue UI (legacy Unity GUI), you should put a legacy Unity GUI "Text Field UI" in it. Don't add a separate new Unity UI Canvas and dialogue UI. (Technically you can do this by using an Override Dialogue UI component, but I don't think that's what you want in this case.)
Here's a version of the Necromancer Dialogue UI that has a Text Field UI: NecroWithTextInput_2016-05-07.unitypackage
It imports as Assets > Dialogue System > Prefabs > Legacy Unity GUI Prefabs > Necromancer > Necromancer Dialogue UI with TextInput.
It has a new child GameObject named Text Field UI. I left the Dialogue Window GameObject active so you can easily see the Text Field UI and customize its appearance to your liking. Then deactivate Dialogue Window so it doesn't obscure your Game view as you're editing your scene.
Or, if you already have a custom dialogue UI, you can just move the Text Field UI to your custom dialogue UI. Make sure it's a child of Dialogue Window.
- supadupa64
- Posts: 200
- Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 9:40 pm
- Contact:
Re: Player input "code" for quest
Here's what I have right now. Input is default off center? I can't figure out how to move it. I think I'm missing a step. If I enter a password it goes to the next dialogue node, but doesn't register if it's correct or incorrect. I guess this is set up to choose the label or no label?
Game I'm working on:
Website: http://www.RuctionGames.com
Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/49682 ... en_Tablet/
Website: http://www.RuctionGames.com
Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/49682 ... en_Tablet/
Re: Player input "code" for quest
I didn't know how you'd want to position the input field, so I left it entirely up to you.
For checking the password, I recommend looking at Assets > Dialogue System > Examples > Computer Input Loop. In particular, notice the <Delay Condition Evaluation> node. Since the Dialogue System normally evaluates conditions one level ahead, this "buffer" node delays evaluation of the player's input until after the player has entered it.
For checking the password, I recommend looking at Assets > Dialogue System > Examples > Computer Input Loop. In particular, notice the <Delay Condition Evaluation> node. Since the Dialogue System normally evaluates conditions one level ahead, this "buffer" node delays evaluation of the player's input until after the player has entered it.
- supadupa64
- Posts: 200
- Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 9:40 pm
- Contact:
Re: Player input "code" for quest
How can I view the conversations in the demo? All I can ever see are my own.
Game I'm working on:
Website: http://www.RuctionGames.com
Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/49682 ... en_Tablet/
Website: http://www.RuctionGames.com
Steam: http://store.steampowered.com/app/49682 ... en_Tablet/
Re: Player input "code" for quest
Can you open the scene in the folder Assets > Dialogue System > Examples > Computer Input Loop?
If you play this scene, you'll get an idea of how it works.
Then inspect the scene's Dialogue Manager, and click on the Dialogue System banner to open the scene's database in the Dialogue Editor.
If you play this scene, you'll get an idea of how it works.
Then inspect the scene's Dialogue Manager, and click on the Dialogue System banner to open the scene's database in the Dialogue Editor.