Barks not working in 2D - showing white box only

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
Niwre
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2022 8:58 am

Barks not working in 2D - showing white box only

Post by Niwre »

Hello,

Since shortly I've started using this sytem but unfortunately I ran into an issue while I started to use the bark system that is included.

My game is in 2D and I have set up the Dialogue System according to the required steps mentioned in the Quick Start.
I have followed this tutorial on youtube:
but I am not getting the same results. Instead, a white box is shown on the top of the npc without any context in it. I receive no console errors and when using the "quick start" (not the barks) it shows the actualy dialogs.
I tried to fiddle a bit with some settings but it didn't work out.
whiteboxexample.png
whiteboxexample.png (2.25 KiB) Viewed 330 times
HelpScreen.png
HelpScreen.png (49.28 KiB) Viewed 330 times
settings.png
settings.png (48.75 KiB) Viewed 330 times

Probably I missed something stupid and I would appreciate some help to figure out what's going wrong. I am using unity version 2020.3.25f1 and the Dialogue System is on version 2.2.29.

Thank you!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21975
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Barks not working in 2D - showing white box only

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Try this:

1. Add an instance of the Bubble Template Standard Bark UI to the character as a child GameObject. This will make it easier to investigate at design time.

2. Assign this instance, and not the prefab in the Project view, to the character's Dialogue Actor component.

3. The Bubble Template Standard Bark UI has a world space Canvas. Try setting its Sort Order to a higher value so that it renders on top of the other screen elements. Play around with this until you can see the bubble. You may also want to inspect the Main Panel GameObject's Rect Transform and adjust the Y position.

Another way to handle it is in this post.
Niwre
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2022 8:58 am

Re: Barks not working in 2D - showing white box only

Post by Niwre »

Hi,

Thanks for the feedback.
Neither one of the two solutions worked for me.
Is there anything else that you could think of, that might cause this issue?

While investigating I noticed that the the instance of the prefab is only visible at design time.
I tried to assign the highest layer order, tried out various settings and both suggested changes with no luck.

Thanks!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21975
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Barks not working in 2D - showing white box only

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

At start, the bark UI automatically deactivates its UI until it needs to show a bark.

Please reproduce the issue in the editor. When a bark starts, pause play mode. Inspect the bark UI's bark text UI element. Does it contain the bark's text?

Can you send a reproduction project to tony (at) pixelcrushers.com?
Niwre
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2022 8:58 am

Re: Barks not working in 2D - showing white box only

Post by Niwre »

Hi,

I tried to setup a reproduction project but when I did it appeared to work without a problem.
I fully removed the whole dialogue system in my original project and then fully reimported it again, reproducing the steps I did and it appears to work now. It's still unclear what went wrong for me but I'm very happy that it works and very grateful for your support.

Thank you!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21975
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Barks not working in 2D - showing white box only

Post by Tony Li »

I'm glad you were able to get it working. If something changes in your project and barks no longer appear, and if you can't pinpoint the culprit, feel free to pack up the project and send it to me as a repro project.
Post Reply