DialogueManager.AddDatabase id's issue

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
Deadcow
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2019 8:21 am

DialogueManager.AddDatabase id's issue

Post by Deadcow »

We're working with several databases merged into one at the beggining of the game with "ExtraDatabases" MB. To solve merge issues I set up unique base id's, like 1, 10000, 20000 etc.
Now at runtime instead of conversation with id 181 in db with baseId=20000 DIalogueManager starts conversation with id 181 in db with baseId=1.
So probably when DialogueManager looks up for conversation by name in all databases it not adds up base id to it.

What am I doing wrong here?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21962
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: DialogueManager.AddDatabase id's issue

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Base IDs are used when adding new content in the Dialogue Editor.

Would you please clarify when you are merging? ExtraDatabases doesn't do any merging of IDs. It just loads extra databases into memory.

Are you using the Unique ID Tool at design time?

Or merging databases at design time using the Dialogue Editor's Database > Merge Databases foldout?

Or merging at runtime using the DatabaseMerger class in C#?

Or just loading databases into memory using Extra Databases?
Deadcow
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2019 8:21 am

Re: DialogueManager.AddDatabase id's issue

Post by Deadcow »

The only thing I used is "Extra Databases". I assumed that BaseId would be sufficient.
It seems that I rushed through docs too quickly :)
Thanks for clarifying that! "Unique ID Tool" helped with my problem.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21962
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: DialogueManager.AddDatabase id's issue

Post by Tony Li »

Glad to help!
Post Reply