Navigating between responses

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
bitGlassGames

Navigating between responses

Post by bitGlassGames »

Hi all,

I'm new to Dialogue System and have just run through the Conversation Conditions tutorial.
Using a joystick button I can choose the default response but I can't navigate between responses using the joystick or keyboard.
I've inspected the buttons for each response in the hierarchy and Navigation is set to Explicit and the various directions point to the correct response.
Is there something really obvious I should be checking or is there some documentation I can look at to troubleshoot this?
Tony Li

Re: Navigating between responses

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Thanks for using the Dialogue System!

Are there any errors or warnings in the Console window?

Inspect the Dialogue Manager GameObject's Input Device Manager component. Tick the Always Auto Focus checkbox. Then see if you can navigate responses.

If you can't, then keep an inspector view on the EventSystem GameObject. In play mode, it will report which UI Button (if any) is selected (i.e. focused for navigation). When the response menu comes up, does one of the response buttons have focus?
bitGlassGames

Post by bitGlassGames »

Thanks for the reply.
Looking at the EventSystem GameObject, I noticed that the Move field (of the InputSystemUIInputModule component) was pointing to UI / Move, so I had a look at what other options were available and there was an option for Player / Move.
While I'm not sure where it's pulling those variables (possibly because I'm using Input System?), but that definitely fixed it.
I can now navigate between responses =)
Interestingly, the responses won't accept my Interact button that I've set up in the Dialogue Manager. There's nothing in the EventSystem / Input Module that seems to fix it either. Any ideas?
bitGlassGames

Post by bitGlassGames »