How to update/handle a save record when database changes (e.g. variables, entries)

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
badboybulitas
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2021 9:53 pm

How to update/handle a save record when database changes (e.g. variables, entries)

Post by badboybulitas »

Hello,

First of all, I just bought this asset and it has been working great!
This has significantly reduced my workload for creating my game.

I just encounter an issue where my save data does not reflect my changes in my database.

Scenario:
  1. create a quest entry with incorrect variable information
  2. run game
  3. activate the corresponding quest and entry
    • entry should look like

      Code: Select all

      Collect fruit nil/2
  4. save the game (using dialogue system save system)
  5. update the quest entry
    • fruit varialble is defined in database
  6. run game
  7. load game
Expected:

Code: Select all

Collect fruit [var=fruit]/2
Actual:

Code: Select all

Collect fruit nil/2
Note:
  • if you activate the quest normally instead of loading after step 6, the correct quest entry is displayed
  • same issue is encountered when I changed the variable name
Is the behavior above expected?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22051
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: How to update/handle a save record when database changes (e.g. variables, entries)

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

If you're using the save system, make sure you've added a DialogueSystemSaver component. Also inspect the Dialogue Manager GameObject and ensure that Persistent Data Settings > Initialize New Variables is ticked.
badboybulitas
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2021 9:53 pm

Re: How to update/handle a save record when database changes (e.g. variables, entries)

Post by badboybulitas »

Hello,

Thanks for your reply!
If you're using the save system, make sure you've added a DialogueSystemSaver component. Also inspect the Dialogue Manager GameObject and ensure that Persistent Data Settings > Initialize New Variables is ticked.
Unfortunately, the two items you mentioned are already applied.
At first, Let me check if I can reproduce this in a smaller environment.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22051
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: How to update/handle a save record when database changes (e.g. variables, entries)

Post by Tony Li »

That would be very helpful. If you can put together a small reproduction project, please send it to tony (at) pixelcrushers.com.
Post Reply