Disable dialogue entries

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
User avatar
Adventure4Life
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri May 01, 2020 8:17 am

Disable dialogue entries

Post by Adventure4Life »

Hi,
I'm making a point and click adventure game using Adventure creator
and recently I bought Dialogue system for unity in order to use it's
tree based nodes for conversations. For each player node, I'm calling AC action list
(it gives me more flexibilty than using the Dialogue text)
so far it looks like these two plugins work fine with each other :) .

I would like to know if there are easy ways of doing the following (features which are given in AC dialogue system):
1. Disable entry after it been selected - without using specific variable per entry..
2. return to previous group of dialouge entries - without manualy link to previous group
3. return to previous group of dialouge entries if all current group entries been disabled.

Thanks.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22054
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Disable dialogue entries

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,
Adventure4Life wrote: Fri May 01, 2020 8:30 am1. Disable entry after it been selected - without using specific variable per entry.
If they're menu responses and you want to show them in a different visual style, set the Dialogue Manager's Input Settings > [em#] Tag for Old Responses.

To disable an entry entirely after it's been used, tick the Dialogue Manager's Other Settings > Include SimStatus, set the Conditions field to:

Code: Select all

Dialog[thisID].SimStatus ~= "WasDisplayed"
(You don't have to type that into the Conditions field. There's a "..." dropdown menu where you can select it.)
Adventure4Life wrote: Fri May 01, 2020 8:30 am2. return to previous group of dialouge entries - without manualy link to previous group
Use the conversation stack. You'll push a position onto the stack to record that position, then later pop to return to that recorded position.
Adventure4Life wrote: Fri May 01, 2020 8:30 am3. return to previous group of dialouge entries if all current group entries been disabled.
It's not automatic, but you could add logic to do that with the conversation stack.
User avatar
Adventure4Life
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri May 01, 2020 8:17 am

Re: Disable dialogue entries

Post by Adventure4Life »

Thanks for your quick reply,

1. I ticked 'Include SimStatus', and select the condition from dropdown (it was generated the same as the code you pasted),
however it throw the following exception:
'Look up of field '1' in the table element failed becuase the table element itself isn't in table"

[EDIT]
It's working now, the 'Include SimStatus' tick wasn't saved from some reason, I ticked it again
and now it works :)


2. I added to the dialog manager the 'conversation position stack' component (otherwise it throws exception),
added to the parent group's script: ' PushConversationPosition()' and for the child node's script 'PopConversationPosition()' -
nothing happened after child node been executed.

There is a way to see the stack?

[EDIT]
I see PushConversationPosition() isn't working with group...
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22054
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Disable dialogue entries

Post by Tony Li »

Please use PushConversationPosition() on the node before the group, which is typically a "What do you want to talk about?" node that branches off to different topics (including groups).

The stack currently isn't visible, but that's a great idea. I'll add it in the next update.
User avatar
Adventure4Life
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri May 01, 2020 8:17 am

Re: Disable dialogue entries

Post by Adventure4Life »

That's great :)

About your suggestion of PushConversationPosition() on the "What do you want to talk about?" node -
it works, but that means that each time we return to previous it repeat that line.

In general, point and click games require four easy to use options for dialogue entry:
1. delete\disable selected dialogue entry - right now, with dropdown it demands 4 clicks to get the code, or to paste the code
I suggest checkbox which you can tick to delete entry afterward.
2. remain in same dialogue group, after entry selected
3. return to previous dialogue group, after entry selected
options 2 and 3 can be selected in combobox, which also consist last option 'exit conversation'
4. a checkbox which can be added to the setting of the dialogue manager
'return to previous dialogue if no entries', otherwise it exit conversation.

I know it's a big ask, but if I'm thinking of using the plugin in
a long term project which demands many but really many entries with the following options,
it will be a mess in the current situation.

I will be gratefull (and I'm sure many others will be, too) if you will add those features in easy
to use GUI. it will improve the user experience a LOT.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22054
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Disable dialogue entries

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Yes, I'll look into ways to implement this.
User avatar
Adventure4Life
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri May 01, 2020 8:17 am

Re: Disable dialogue entries

Post by Adventure4Life »

Thank you so much Tony, much appreciated!!!
Post Reply