Dialogue not Updated on Build/Continue Button Error/Database Merging Issue

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
Roen
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 1:26 am

Dialogue not Updated on Build/Continue Button Error/Database Merging Issue

Post by Roen »

Hello forum!

I'm currently testing on build and run for my 2D rpg project and I encountered some issues.

1) When running the built project targeted platform windows x86_64, some parts of the dialogue are not updated in the build.
For the original project file, everything is updated and runs perfectly in editor. However when I build and run the project, some of the dialogue reflects the wrong version of the database while some reflects correctly according to the updated version. What could possibly be causing this issue?
(this problem also exists for some updated game objects in the scene that functions correctly on editor but not in build)

2) Dialogue System Manager is set to Not Before Response Menu.
However when I build and run the whole project, the continue mode is changed to auto play to the next line, and I cannot press button to continue anymore. What could be the reason?

3) I have a group mate working separately on the writing of dialogue.
When I merge the database that is updated from their side, whenever I have dialogue entry that are not on their database, those dialogue entry (e.g. sequence) will be replaced to empty. Is there a way to have their part of the dialogue entry to merge into my database but keep what I originally have in my database at the same time?


So sorry for the lengthy questions and I really appreciate your time and effort in looking into my issues.
Thank you and wish you a good week ahead!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22055
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Dialogue not Updated on Build/Continue Button Error/Database Merging Issue

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,
Roen wrote: Mon Mar 02, 2020 10:56 am1) When running the built project targeted platform windows x86_64, some parts of the dialogue are not updated in the build.
For the original project file, everything is updated and runs perfectly in editor. However when I build and run the project, some of the dialogue reflects the wrong version of the database while some reflects correctly according to the updated version. What could possibly be causing this issue?
(this problem also exists for some updated game objects in the scene that functions correctly on editor but not in build)

2) Dialogue System Manager is set to Not Before Response Menu.
However when I build and run the whole project, the continue mode is changed to auto play to the next line, and I cannot press button to continue anymore. What could be the reason?
Both of these sound like your build settings point to an old copy of the scene instead of the up-to-date scene.
Roen wrote: Mon Mar 02, 2020 10:56 am3) I have a group mate working separately on the writing of dialogue.
When I merge the database that is updated from their side, whenever I have dialogue entry that are not on their database, those dialogue entry (e.g. sequence) will be replaced to empty. Is there a way to have their part of the dialogue entry to merge into my database but keep what I originally have in my database at the same time?
Not using the Dialogue Editor's Merge Database feature. It doesn't know whether you intentionally deleted dialogue entries or not, so it replaces the entire conversation.

You could write a custom editor script to merge the way you want to.
Roen
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 1:26 am

Re: Dialogue not Updated on Build/Continue Button Error/Database Merging Issue

Post by Roen »

Hello Tony, thank you for replying!

Can the scene updating issue be solved by removing and re-adding scenes in build?

Another issue is that I bought the dialogue system on Unity Asset Store after trying out of the trial version as the experience is amazing. However when I tried to import it into Unity via the asset store, I am getting some error as attached below. My Unity is 2019.1.5f1. What could be the reason of it?
Attachments
4.PNG
4.PNG (28.82 KiB) Viewed 340 times
3.PNG
3.PNG (30 KiB) Viewed 340 times
2.PNG
2.PNG (21.74 KiB) Viewed 340 times
1.PNG
1.PNG (19.86 KiB) Viewed 340 times
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22055
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Dialogue not Updated on Build/Continue Button Error/Database Merging Issue

Post by Tony Li »

Roen wrote: Mon Mar 02, 2020 11:15 pmCan the scene updating issue be solved by removing and re-adding scenes in build?
It's worth a try. This will help make sure that the correct scenes are being used.
Roen wrote: Mon Mar 02, 2020 11:15 pmAnother issue is that I bought the dialogue system on Unity Asset Store after trying out of the trial version as the experience is amazing. However when I tried to import it into Unity via the asset store, I am getting some error as attached below. My Unity is 2019.1.5f1. What could be the reason of it?
DELETE these 2 folders: [Edit: Fixed typo that said "These these 2 folders"]

Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Common/DLLs
Assets/Plugins/Pixel Crushers/Dialogue System/DLLs

p.s. - Thank you for buying the Dialogue System!
Roen
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 1:26 am

Re: Dialogue not Updated on Build/Continue Button Error/Database Merging Issue

Post by Roen »

These are the contents inside those folder. What do I need to do for it?
Attachments
6.PNG
6.PNG (17.16 KiB) Viewed 324 times
5.PNG
5.PNG (18.34 KiB) Viewed 324 times
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22055
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Dialogue not Updated on Build/Continue Button Error/Database Merging Issue

Post by Tony Li »

Oops, sorry, that was a strange typo. I meant to write "Delete these 2 folders." The DLLs folders are no longer necessary now that you've imported the paid version's full source code.
Post Reply