Bark UI duration

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Japtor
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 1:41 pm

Bark UI duration

Post by Japtor »

Hi,

Is there a possibility to swap the duration of a specific bark in "play mode"?

I know that the standard Bark UI has a Duration field. However, there are some specific dialogue barks from the same NPC which I would like to extend/decrease their duration in the scene.

Thanks! :)
Last edited by Japtor on Wed Jan 02, 2019 11:02 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22057
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Bark UI duration

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Try this:

1. Inspect the NPC's bark UI.
- Tick Wait Until Sequence Ends.
- Set Duration to something very small, like 0.1.

2. Set every bark's Sequence to: Delay({{end}})

3. When you want to extend or decrease a duration, use a different sequence. For example, this will extend the bark by 2 seconds:

Code: Select all

Delay({{end}})@2
And this will show a bark for only 1 second:

Code: Select all

Delay(1)
Japtor
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 1:41 pm

Re: Bark UI duration

Post by Japtor »

Hi,

Thanks, it worked! :)
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22057
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: [Solved] Bark UI duration

Post by Tony Li »

Glad to help!
Japtor
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 1:41 pm

Re: Bark UI duration

Post by Japtor »

Hi,

First of all Happy new year! :)

So, I've got a problem with this again, so that is why I resue this post.

I have tried both Delay({{end}})@3 & Delay(3) inside a dialogue bark.

It works well if the player character doesn't enter inside the same NPC trigger while the bark is displayed on the screen. However, If the player character triggers the same NPC while his bark stills active with the delay sequence... The next time you trigger it again, the duration of that bark it varies (maybe 1 second, 0.5, etc), but is always something less than the 3 seconds.

Any idea? :)
Thanks!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22057
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Bark UI duration

Post by Tony Li »

This is because the sequence is already playing from the previous bark.

If you set the bark UI's Duration to zero, it will use the Dialogue Manager's Subtitle Settings > Min Subtitle Seconds and Subtitle Chars Per Second. Would that work better?
Japtor
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 1:41 pm

Re: Bark UI duration

Post by Japtor »

Hi,

I appreciate the answer, but I think I got the same result.

I like a lot the approximation to the first solution you gave me in this post. Is there something we could do while maintaining a little bit that logic? If not... are there any other options?

Thanks!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22057
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Bark UI duration

Post by Tony Li »

In the next update, I'll change the Standard Bark UI so it resets the timer when you play a second bark while the first one is still showing. The bark UI won't disappear until the second bark's sequence is done.
Japtor
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 1:41 pm

Re: Bark UI duration

Post by Japtor »

Hi!

Thanks! I will leave this post open until I try the update and check if it works out.

Is there something that I should change/know for making it work in the future patch or it would behave normally with the logic I already have (your first solution/answer in this post)?
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22057
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Bark UI duration

Post by Tony Li »

It will behave normally with the logic you already have. You won't need to do anything else.
Post Reply