Difficulties getting Dialogue System Working

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
PunhoNinja
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 5:40 am

Difficulties getting Dialogue System Working

Post by PunhoNinja »

Hi guys,

I have recently purchased Dialogue System and S-Inventory to integrate with after I sort the dia system out.

I am having issues with getting it working, i've recorded a short video of me using the setup Wizards and hopefully you can tell me where i'm going wrong.

Sorry if i'm being a noob, and appreciate any patience you guys have with me!

Link to video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iUegMWwgsQE

Thanks,
Jack
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22062
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Difficulties getting Dialogue System Working

Post by Tony Li »

Hi Jack,

When you have a project with RFPSP, S-Inventory, and the Dialogue System, there are a lot of moving parts. I recommend tackling them one by one. This would be a good order:

1. Import RFPSP. Make sure it's working by playing the sandbox demo scene.

2. Import the Dialogue System. Make sure it's working by playing the Feature Demo scene. You might want to familiarize yourself with Dialogue System basics by doing the ultra quick start tutorial.

3. Import S-Inventory. Make sure it's working by playing the demo scene.


RFPSP + Dialogue System Integration
4. Next, normally you would import Assets > Import Package > Custom Package... and select Assets / Dialogue System / Third Party Support / Realistic FPS Prefab Support.unitypackage. However, Azuline recently updated RFPSP to version 1.44. This required an update to the Dialogue System's integration package. Download the integration package from the Dialogue System Extras page by clicking here. (This updated integration package will be in the soon-to-be-released Dialogue System 1.7.7.)

5. You must add two input definitions for Unity UI. The instructions are here.

Play the scene in Assets / Dialogue System / Third Party Support / Realistic FPS Prefab / Example to get an idea of how the integration plays. The documentation for how to set up this scene is here.


RFPSP + Dialogue System + S-Inventory Integration
5. From Assets / Dialogue System / Third Party Support, import S-Inventory Support.unitypackage.

6. From Assets / Dialogue System / Third Party Support / S-Inventory, import RFPS S-Inventory Support.unitypackage.

Play the scene located in Assets / Dialogue System / Third Party Support / S-Inventory / RFPS S-Inventory to get an idea of how it plays. The documentation for how to set up S-Inventory is here. The documentation for how to get S-Inventory to play nicely with RFPSP is here.


After you've verified that all of this is working in the example scenes, you can set up your own scene. You can follow the steps here.

Before you do that, I recommend reading the S-Inventory documentation and playing with S-Inventory by itself so you understand how it works. It'll make it easier to understand what's going on when you add in RFPSP and the Dialogue System. Take your time. As I mentioned above, there are a lot of different parts to familiarize yourself with. If you get stuck on anything, just let me know.
PunhoNinja
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 5:40 am

Re: Difficulties getting Dialogue System Working

Post by PunhoNinja »

Well, that went very well actually!

I havent looked at quest stuff or anything but it looks like I can have a basic conversation, a couple of things though:

1. The subtitles dont hang around fast enough and it appears you have to set a specific value in seconds before it presents the options of response? Is there a way it can play the full subtitle before requesting a response?

2. How hard it is to apply a voice audio clip to each response?

3. How do you I get the mouse button to activate so that the user can click an option without having to use the tab button?

3. How to I bring up quest menu?

Thanks,
Jack
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22062
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Difficulties getting Dialogue System Working

Post by Tony Li »

Hi Jack,
PunhoNinja wrote: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:22 pm1. The subtitles dont hang around fast enough and it appears you have to set a specific value in seconds before it presents the options of response? Is there a way it can play the full subtitle before requesting a response?
Depending on how you've set up your dialogue UI, there are usually two values you can tweak:

1. Dialogue Manager > Canvas > ...Dialogue UI > Dialogue Panel > NPC Subtitle > NPC Subtitle Line. Inspect the Unity UI Typewriter Effect. Make sure the Characters Per Second value is higher (faster) than the value in #2 below:

2. Inspect Dialogue Manager > Display Settings > Subtitle Settings > Subtitle Chars Per Second.

By making the typewriter faster than the Dialogue Manager's Subtitle Chars Per Second, it allows the typewriter to finish before the subtitle ends.

Alternatively, you can set the Dialogue Manager's Display Settings > Subtitle Settings > Continue Button to Always to require the player to click a continue button to advance past the subtitle.

PunhoNinja wrote: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:22 pm2. How hard it is to apply a voice audio clip to each response?
Put the audio clip in a Resources folder. Then use the AudioWait() sequencer command in the response's Sequence field.

Let's say the audio clip is named "hello", and you've put it inside a Resources folder, in a subfolder named Bob. Then set Sequence to:

Code: Select all

AudioWait(Bob/hello)
This is a good way to get started, but you can imagine that it requires a bit of work if you have a lot of responses. Once you get the basic AudioWait above working, you may want to read about entrytags to automate it a little.
PunhoNinja wrote: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:22 pm3. How do you I get the mouse button to activate so that the user can click an option without having to use the tab button?
Add a Show Cursor On Conversation component to the player.
PunhoNinja wrote: Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:22 pm3. How to I bring up quest menu?
The Dialogue System ships with a rudimentary menu system. See the TPC Support example scene.

The Dialogue System Extras page has a free menu framework that's more extensive.

Or you can add a Quest Log Window Hotkey component to toggle the quest log window using a key or input button.
PunhoNinja
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 5:40 am

Re: Difficulties getting Dialogue System Working

Post by PunhoNinja »

Hey!

I've got the Show Cursor on Conv' on the player but it's still not showing the cursor, i'm a little stuck :/

Jack
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 22062
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Difficulties getting Dialogue System Working

Post by Tony Li »

Hi Jack,

Would it be possible for you to send a reproduction project to tony (at) pixelcrushers.com? It's probably a tiny little setting that got missed somewhere. I'll be happy to take a look and let you know what I find.
Post Reply