I have no idea what I'm doing :?

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21966
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: I have no idea what I'm doing :?

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,
Escara wrote: Tue Jan 01, 2019 1:33 pmIn the screenshot below, the speech bubble on the NPC goes off the side of the screen, is there a way to constrain it?
This has been a highly-requested feature. The next release has a new component called Keep RectTransform Onscreen. Here's a copy that you can use right now:

KeepRectTransformOnscreen_2019-01-01.unitypackage

If your browser shows gibberish when you click on that link, go back to this post, right-click the link, and select Save As.... Then import the package into your project, and add a Keep RectTransform Onscreen component to your bubble UI's Main Panel GameObject.
Escara wrote: Tue Jan 01, 2019 1:33 pmSecondly, the Player's dialogue line doesn't appear at all. Viewing the inspector, nothing seems to trigger the bubble template to switch on.
Inspect the Dialogue Manager, and tick Subtitle Settings > Show PC Subtitles During Line. You may also want to untick Skip PC Subtitle After Response Menu.

And no need for apologies. I'm happy to help!
Escara
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 4:55 am

Re: I have no idea what I'm doing :?

Post by Escara »

Hi again. Yes I already changed that and it still doesn't work unfortunately. I do wonder if it's getting confused as I've saved a new version of my Player prefab a few times now, but saying that I have ensured the most up to date one is the one I'm using for all actions. Wondering if it's worth building my player prefab from scratch?
Escara
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 4:55 am

Re: I have no idea what I'm doing :?

Post by Escara »

Oh and thanks for the link, I'll get that imported.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21966
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: I have no idea what I'm doing :?

Post by Tony Li »

As a test, inspect your player's Dialogue Actor component, and set Subtitle Panel Number to Default. This should use the dialogue UI assigned to the Dialogue Manager's Dialogue UI field, which presumably is the Basic Standard Dialogue UI.

If it shows the player's dialogue, then the issue is with the player's bubble UI.

If it doesn't show the player's dialogue, then the issue is elsewhere. In this case, temporarily set the Dialogue Manager's Other Settings > Debug Level to Info. This will log a lot of info to the Console window. Look for a line like:

Code: Select all

Dialogue System: Player says 'Aw Dink, you're the best!'
If you don't see a line like that, open the Dialogue Editor onto that conversation and play the conversation again. The editor will show the current node in green. Maybe it's not getting to that node for some reason.

If you do see a line in the Console, check the dialogue entry node's Sequence field. If it's blank, check the Dialogue Manager's Camera & Cutscene Settings > Default Player Sequence field. If this is blank (the default), check the Default Sequence field. This field defaults to "Delay({{end}})", which should keep the subtitle onscreen for a few seconds. A dialogue entry node's subtitle stays onscreen for the duration of the node's sequence. If any of these sequence fields are different, it's possible that the sequence is running in just one frame, which doesn't give enough time for the subtitle to be visible.

At any point, please feel free to send a copy of your project to tony (at) pixelcrushers.com if you like. I'll be happy to take a look directly.
Escara
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 4:55 am

Re: I have no idea what I'm doing :?

Post by Escara »

If it shows the player's dialogue, then the issue is with the player's bubble UI.

Default did show the dialogue from the Player. I'll have a go at setting up again and see if it fixes it perhaps? I presume once it's set up as a child of the Player I can save the whole thing as a player prefab? It worked fine for the NPC.

The sequence in the log looks odd to me (2 parts) though:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/wbjpacdre2abf ... 1.png?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/b9yr0y6t9ovkp ... 6.png?dl=0

If I can't get anywhere with it, do you just need access to this particular scene?

Thanks so much for your support! I think I need to sleep on this now and try again tomorrow!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21966
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: I have no idea what I'm doing :?

Post by Tony Li »

It's possible that the bubble UI is positioned so high above the player that it's not visible. You can check this by pausing the game as soon as the player speaks her line. In the Hierarchy, select the player's bubble UI. Then in the Scene view press 'F' to focus on it.

If that doesn't help, you can zip up the project's Assets and ProjectSettings folders, and send the zip file to me. The scene file by itself isn't enough to play the scene. All customer files are handled confidentially. If that won't work for you, PM me or email tony (at) pixelcrushers.com and we can figure something out.
Escara
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 4:55 am

Re: I have no idea what I'm doing :?

Post by Escara »

Yes I already tried that. It seems the Bubble UI doesn't become ticked when the Player speaks her line as per screenshot. Comparing it to the NPC's Bubble UI, his does become ticked when he speaks his line.

[removed link]

I'm just uploading my zipped project to Dropbox which I'll share with you. My internet connection isn't great as I live in the middle of nowhere, but I'll let you know once it's done and email you the link. It's currently saying it'll take a day :lol: But thank you very much.

Also the link you sent to keep the NPC dialogue within the screen works perfectly, thank you.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21966
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: I have no idea what I'm doing :?

Post by Tony Li »

Thanks; I'll give it a little time and try to download it later today. I removed the link from your post so no one else can download it.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21966
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: I have no idea what I'm doing :?

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Inspect Dink Prefab NPC 1: Use, and assign the scene instance of Bay_Dawes_Prefab Player 2019 1 1 to the Actor field, or simply leave the Actor field unassigned (in which case it will automatically use the player GameObject).

You had assigned the player prefab to the Third Party: Dialogue System Conversation action. The Dialogue System was trying to play the player's subtitle through that prefab instead of the scene instance.
Escara
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 4:55 am

Re: I have no idea what I'm doing :?

Post by Escara »

Thanks so much for looking at this for me, really appreciated and it's now working. I didn't realize that would be a problem and it makes sense.

So, do I need to add a scene instance of my players and npcs to all of my scenes for this to work? Or as you say leave it blank (for my Player) and it will use the prefab instance instead? Can I set my prefab with DS and use that in the action lists?... In fact I just left the actor section blank and it worked that way too so scrap that question. Will that work with Dink NPC too as he follows her from scene to scene and I don't really need to add a scene instance of him each time? He doesn't even appear at the beginning of the game.

So happy this is working!! I can now customise the bubble image with my own design.

One more question, there are times throughout the game where I use AC's conversation system and want to swap it with DS. I presume I can use the response panel to achieve this? I'd still want to use the speech bubbles for both the questions and answers for both Player and NPC as the menu panel is an abbreviated version of the questions. Is there anything special/extra I need to set up, or can I follow your tutorials?

https://www.dropbox.com/s/qkvzooqjjstfe ... 9.png?dl=0
Post Reply