I seem to have another issue where im using a controller and the highlight option seems to dissapear.
So if i press active or complete and i press up its going to a place called no active - im guessing thats the active quests.
but as a user you wouldnt know where it was.
I am hoping you can help me solve this or advise if im missing somthing.
I have to leave the button as 'automatic' on the button navigation other wise it just breaks the system.
I have uploaded a video to show you what i mean. If you look in the console you can see what the current button is on.
Re: Lost Buttons
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2025 8:28 am
by jrose1184
Towards the end of the video when the current button is 'no active quests' im press up down left right trying to get it back to the active button or closed button but it just gets lost.
Re: Lost Buttons
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2025 10:04 am
by Tony Li
This is a dumb quirk in the way Unity UI's EventSystem handles navigation, since Automatic navigation allows the player to navigate to non-interactable buttons. You could make a subclass that sets up Explicit navigation, or you can use this patch that's in DS version 2.2.51 which prevents navigating to "No active/completed quests" text:
Awesome that worked so much better just one more question please.
when i press up on a active quest it shows 'Track Toggle (UnityEngine.GameObject)' as the active button but i cant visually see it. is there away i can make this highlight?
Re: Lost Buttons
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2025 1:34 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,
Make sure your track toggle UI element is visible. Maybe it's a positioning/scaling issue, or maybe it's covered or the alpha is set to zero.
Re: Lost Buttons
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2025 4:23 pm
by jrose1184
Thank you - fixed that just one more issue - when i activate a quest under the quest details it creates the task like my image
So what happens is i can still go left but nothing is highlighted. So is there away to make that highlight? it says i need a image background to use sprite swap but the target image is 'Active Quest Title'.
So im guessing sprite swap wont work here - but also having a button that does not interact would be useless as i would still have to move the joystick right to use the toggle which is inside the button.
A bit lost on this one.
Re: Lost Buttons
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2025 5:34 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,
You can edit your quest log window UI and add an Image if there isn't one already. Then assign that Image as the Button's Target Graphic. Then you can use sprite swap.
Re: Lost Buttons
Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2025 7:03 pm
by jrose1184
Hi thanks.
Still having an issue with the quest active button and the toggle.
So it feels a bit weird to have an active state on the active quest and then next navigation button goes to the toggle inside the parent button.
I’m thinking if I don’t want to use the toggle can that be removed. Or if I move the toggle outside of the parent button and just sit it next to it would that be an issue?
Also the highlight sprite swap does not show at all just seems to go a darker back when I am on that button.
Just wondering if I’m doing something wrong?
Again is is all for controller input the mouse has no issues
Re: Lost Buttons
Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2025 7:19 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,
If the button is going darker, that means its Transition is probably set to Color Tint instead of Sprite Swap.
If you've set it up so you can't toggle the track/untrack state of quests, you can just deactivate the toggle child GameObject.
Re: Lost Buttons
Posted: Mon Mar 17, 2025 5:07 am
by jrose1184
Hi,
It is set up on sprite swap but the button is just not looking correct