Page 1 of 1

Multiple canvases in the same scene

Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2025 9:54 am
by ORCONECTESLIMOSUS
Hello!
I'm using in-game 3D planes as dialogue UIs, each with its own Canvas. However, when I create additional Canvases (even by duplicating a working one), they appear grey in the hierarchy instead of blue and don’t show up in the scene when interacted with via the built-in interaction system (see picture).

It's crucial to have multiple Canvases because they are positioned in different locations and use unique fonts, sound effects, etc.
It probably has a quick fix but i haven't been able to find an answer on google for some reasn.
Thanks in advance!
Image

Re: Multiple canvases in the same scene

Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2025 2:35 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,

Gray is fine. It just means the GameObject (canvas) isn't part of the original prefab. It's been added to the instance of the prefab that's in the scene. (The green '+' also indicates the same thing.)

If the canvas is a world space canvas, you can alternatively make it a child of the console 3D model GameObject. This may make it easier to position. See the canvas inside the Terminal GameObject in DemoScene1 for an example.

Re: Multiple canvases in the same scene

Posted: Fri Feb 14, 2025 3:53 am
by ORCONECTESLIMOSUS
thanks for the gray thing!

Turns out i just had to use an override dialogue UI component on usables - all dialogue system triggers made the original worldspace canvas appear.

Cheers!
As a side note, can you point me to some resources for customizing the UI manually? It's really hard to search stuff in the official tutorial

Re: Multiple canvases in the same scene

Posted: Fri Feb 14, 2025 7:25 am
by Tony Li
Hi,

The top of the Dialogue UIs page has a list of video tutorials on customizing UIs.

Another tip: In cases where you don't want to use Override Dialogue UI for some reason, you can assign a dialogue UI directly to a Dialogue System Trigger's Actions > Start Conversation > Override Dialogue UI field.