Page 1 of 1

Skip PlayableDirector cutscene containing the script

Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2025 7:21 am
by walczak
Hello,

I am using Unity's PlaybleDirector and Timeline for cutscenes. The Timeline contains a conversation. I am using skip function by forcing the Timeline to go to last frame. It works, however in the conversation in Timeline there is a script on the last conversation node that changes the variable's value. As I skip the cutscene the variable is not changed. Is there a way to skip the entire conversation but keep the script to change the variable?

Thanks

Re: Skip PlayableDirector cutscene containing the script

Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2025 8:02 am
by Tony Li
Hi,

You could use the ConversationControl component and call its SkipAll() method. It will blast through all of the remaining dialogue entries, running their Script fields, without showing any subtitles.

Re: Skip PlayableDirector cutscene containing the script

Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2025 8:40 am
by walczak
Thanks for a reply.

I found the ConversationControl component but I am not sure where to add it. Should I add it to DialogueManager?

Re: Skip PlayableDirector cutscene containing the script

Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2025 9:05 am
by Tony Li
Hi,

Yes, add it to the Dialogue Manager. Note: Since the Dialogue Manager survives scene changes, you can't make inspector assignments between scene objects and the Dialogue Manager. (See [How To: Manage Player Controls and Scene Changes](https://pixelcrushers.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=5928) for a related discussion.)

In the worst case, you can use this line of C# code:

Code: Select all

DialogueManager.instance.GetComponent<ConversationControl>().SkipAll();

Re: Skip PlayableDirector cutscene containing the script

Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2025 9:35 am
by walczak
Thanks. I got it working. I also had to add StopSkipAll(); because it was skipping next conversations too :)
God Bless You mate :)

Re: Skip PlayableDirector cutscene containing the script

Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2025 10:06 am
by Tony Li
You could also tick the Conversation Control component's "Stop Skip All On Conversation End" checkbox. This way it will automatically call StopSkipAll() so you don't need to add it yourself.