Page 1 of 1

Subtitle node is START?

Posted: Thu May 23, 2024 3:50 am
by eonyanov
Hello, I'm trying rework my response menu.
In ShowResponses method I get a subtitle param.
But subtitle.dialogueEntry is START node. I expected this to be the parent node for responses.
Show screenshot below.

Re: Subtitle node is START?

Posted: Thu May 23, 2024 10:57 am
by Tony Li
The parent node for responses should be the "<>" node. How are you reworking your response menu? Are you using any DS special methods?

Re: Subtitle node is START?

Posted: Thu May 23, 2024 12:19 pm
by eonyanov
Tony Li wrote: Thu May 23, 2024 10:57 am The parent node for responses should be the "<>" node. How are you reworking your response menu? Are you using any DS special methods?
I created my class by inheriting from StandardUIMenuPanel and override method ShowResponses.

Code: Select all

 public override void ShowResponses(Subtitle subtitle, Response[] responses, Transform target)
{
            base.ShowResponses(subtitle, responses, target);
            ....
}

Re: Subtitle node is START?

Posted: Thu May 23, 2024 4:54 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,

I think what you're seeing is the "<>" subtitle. Here's an example scene:

DS_TestEonyanov_2024-05-23.unitypackage

It prints the dialogue entry ID along with the subtitle text. It confirms that ShowResponses() receives the "<>" subtitle entry.

Re: Subtitle node is START?

Posted: Fri May 24, 2024 3:24 am
by eonyanov
Tony Li wrote: Thu May 23, 2024 4:54 pm Hi,

I think what you're seeing is the "<>" subtitle. Here's an example scene:

DS_TestEonyanov_2024-05-23.unitypackage

It prints the dialogue entry ID along with the subtitle text. It confirms that ShowResponses() receives the "<>" subtitle entry.
Thanks for an example.
It's strange, but in your scene I get the correct logs even on my database.
I'm trying to understand what the difference is between the default DialogueManager prefab and ours. Maybe some of our scripts have some effect.
Here is logs on our scene with your database:
Screenshot 2024-05-24 122156.jpg
Screenshot 2024-05-24 122156.jpg (13.75 KiB) Viewed 546 times
Do you have any ideas where else to look?

Re: Subtitle node is START?

Posted: Fri May 24, 2024 8:20 am
by Tony Li
Hi,

Does your <START> entry have a link directly to the responses?

Can you send a reproduction project to tony (at) pixelcrushers.com?

Re: Subtitle node is START?

Posted: Mon May 27, 2024 4:56 am
by eonyanov
Hi,
No, <START> doesn't have a link directly to the responses.
Screenshot 2024-05-27 134931.jpg
Screenshot 2024-05-27 134931.jpg (214.22 KiB) Viewed 508 times
And, as I wrote above, in your example everything is fine with my database.
I'll try to create a reproduction project to send to you.

Re: Subtitle node is START?

Posted: Mon May 27, 2024 7:26 am
by eonyanov
I found an issue. There was a problem in our Voiceover script. It continued the conversion if was an empty text in subtitle when received OnConversationLine event.

Re: Subtitle node is START?

Posted: Mon May 27, 2024 9:04 am
by Tony Li
Hi,

Was that the root cause? Is it working now?

Re: Subtitle node is START?

Posted: Tue May 28, 2024 3:39 am
by eonyanov
Tony Li wrote: Mon May 27, 2024 9:04 am Hi,

Was that the root cause? Is it working now?
Yes, now it's working as expected.