Page 1 of 1

Can't override a dialogue panel on cutscene

Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2024 9:02 pm
by OscarS
Hi! I got a problem when trying to use another Dialogue Panel during a cutscene.

I'm using commands to run a cutscene. And everything works fine.
Bug 1.png
Bug 1.png (17.24 KiB) Viewed 615 times
The problem is when I try to change an actor Subtitle Panel. When I try to do so, for some reason the 2 dialogue panels appear. The default and the custom 1(used for this actor). This happens if:

1.- I use the sequence SetPanel() during conversation
Bug 5.png
Bug 5.png (5.75 KiB) Viewed 615 times
2.- I assign the actor an "actor component" and change the "Subtitule Panel Number" to the custom one.
Bug 2.png
Bug 2.png (32.93 KiB) Viewed 615 times
In both cases I get the same result, both subtitle panels appear
Bug 3.png
Bug 3.png (15.7 KiB) Viewed 615 times
They both are instantiated on the canvas
Bug 4.png
Bug 4.png (9.32 KiB) Viewed 615 times
The Custom Panel for the special actor still appears even when a new actor starts talking


No idea what may be the problem. This is the first time I try to use more than 2 conversants on a conversation.

Thanks in advance!
Bug 6.png
Bug 6.png (13.9 KiB) Viewed 615 times

Re: Can't override a dialogue panel on cutscene

Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2024 9:15 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,

Try setting the subtitle panels' Visibility dropdowns to Until Superceded.

Re: Can't override a dialogue panel on cutscene

Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2024 10:15 pm
by OscarS
Hi! Thanks for the reply. This solved the problem at the beginning of the conversation. But when a new NPC started talking both subtitle panels appeared.

Just for anyone with a similar problem, I managed to solve it by first hiding the custom panel with HidePanel(1); then setting the dialogue panel to false SetDialoguePanel(false); and then setting it to true SetDialoguePanel(true);. In this way, everything works fine.

Thanks again!

Re: Can't override a dialogue panel on cutscene

Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2024 10:20 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,

Did you set both subtitle panels' Visibility to Until Superceded? If so, then when the second subtitle panel appears it should automatically hide the first one.

Re: Can't override a dialogue panel on cutscene

Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:43 pm
by OscarS
Hi Tony,

yes. I set "Until Superceded" for both panels. The only solution I found is the one described in the previous post.

Re: Can't override a dialogue panel on cutscene

Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2024 8:54 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,

There may be something particular going on with your dialogue UI.

If you're happy with your current solution, we can leave it there.

If you want to get to the bottom of the issue, please send a reproduction project to tony (at) pixelcrushers.com along with reproduction steps.