Page 1 of 1

Adding a converation at runtime?

Posted: Thu Nov 30, 2023 2:25 am
by ds2497
Hey there, I'm working on creating a bark conversation and adding it to the database at runtime. Here's my code:

Image

However, it's not functioning as expected, and the console is displaying an error: 'Dialogue System: Conversation 'Runtimed181b685-99df-44c4-9343-32b200d6f11a' not found in the database.'

Did I overlook something? Thanks!

Re: Adding a converation at runtime?

Posted: Thu Nov 30, 2023 8:53 am
by Tony Li
Hi,

Please use this code: How To: Add Database At Runtime

You'll want to create and add a new database containing your new conversation. The process of calling DialogueManager.AddDatabase() sets up the back-end data that the Dialogue System needs to run conversations and barks.

You can use the same actor IDs as in your initial database, in which case you don't need to add any actors to your new database.

Make sure to use conversation IDs that are different from your initial database (e.g., start at 10000 or something).

Re: Adding a converation at runtime?

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2023 1:50 am
by ds2497
Got it, thanks!

Re: Adding a converation at runtime?

Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2023 8:34 am
by Tony Li
Glad to help!