Drop-down-menu in Conversations tab doesn't work when used with Ultimate Editor Enhancer

Announcements, support questions, and discussion for the Dialogue System.
Post Reply
MerlinnSound
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2022 7:42 am

Drop-down-menu in Conversations tab doesn't work when used with Ultimate Editor Enhancer

Post by MerlinnSound »

Hi!

In the Conversations tab of The Dialogue System the drop-down-menu doesn't work. It doesn't show my conversations. I can switch to Outline Mode in the Menu and all my conversations are there. I can even select one and edit it when I switch back to Nodes. Nevertheless the drop-down-field doesn't work.

The bug happened, after the main developer merged a seperate branch into the main branch on the github repository.
We were working on different branches and when merging 2 of them together we had a merge conflict, which we resolved by taking one of the databases. Unfortunately, we took the wrong one and had to change it back to use the other version. After that one the drop-down-menu didn't work anymore.
For the others the "/" feature isn't working anymore and the dialogues always show the full path.

Thanks for your help!
Michael
Last edited by MerlinnSound on Sun Oct 15, 2023 3:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21975
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Drop-down-menu in Conversations tab doesn't work

Post by Tony Li »

Hi Michael,

Are there any errors or warnings in the Console window?

Does the filter field to the right of the dropdown menu contain anything? If so, it might be filtering out all conversation titles from the dropdown menu.
MerlinnSound
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2022 7:42 am

Re: Drop-down-menu in Conversations tab doesn't work

Post by MerlinnSound »

Hi Tony,

thanks for your reply. After some trial and error we found out, that the error happens, after we add Ultimate Editor Enhancer to the project (https://infinity-code.com/assets/ultima ... r-enhancer).

Is there any possible solution to this?
Thanks a lot for your help!

Michael
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21975
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Drop-down-menu in Conversations tab doesn't work

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

The conversation selection dropdown menu uses the standard Unity editor API call to show a dropdown.

Does Ultimate Editor Enhancer break any other standard-style dropdown menus in your project? Perhaps any that use "/" in their menu items to group items into submenus?

Is it throwing any errors or warnings in the Console window?

What happens when you click on the dropdown? Is it empty? Does it not open at all?
MerlinnSound
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2022 7:42 am

Re: Drop-down-menu in Conversations tab doesn't work

Post by MerlinnSound »

I just tested, if UEE causes any other problems with dropdown menus in an empty scene with a cube. As far as I see do all others work, except the ones for "Tag" and "Layer". I'm on a Mac right now. On Windows they work fine.

There are no warnings in the Console window.

When I click the dropdown, it does not open at all. It only gets a blue border.

I'm just having a conversation with Alex Vertax in the forum for UEE too and they're asking me, if I can send them the asset for testing purposes. Would that be ok for you? Or would you like to get in contact yourself?
Unfortunately I don't have the Pixelcrushers' Dialogue System asset to test this.
If you can email me this asset (support@infinity-code.com) and give me step by step instructions on what to do to reproduce the problem, I will try to fix it and include this fix in the next version of the asset (which is scheduled for this week).
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21975
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Drop-down-menu in Conversations tab doesn't work

Post by Tony Li »

Hi,

Yes, that's fine to send a reproduction project containing the Dialogue System for Infinity Code. The dropdown is in the script DialogueEditorWindowConversationNodeEditorTopControls.cs, in the method DrawNodeEditorConversationPopup.cs that starts around line 359 depending on your Dialogue System version. It makes this EditorGUILayout.Popup() call:

Code: Select all

int newIndex = EditorGUILayout.Popup(conversationIndex, conversationTitles, GUILayout.Height(EditorGUIUtility.singleLineHeight));
What Unity version are you using? Some older Unity versions had a dropdown bug on Mac (issue tracker here).
MerlinnSound
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2022 7:42 am

Re: Drop-down-menu in Conversations tab doesn't work

Post by MerlinnSound »

I just got an answer from Alex at Infinity Code, that solved my problem:

Try the following:
Edit / Project Settings / Ultimate Editor Enhancer / Unsafe / Search In Enum Fields - OFF.
You may need to restart the editor, but this will most likely fix the problem immediately.

Thanks!
User avatar
Tony Li
Posts: 21975
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: Drop-down-menu in Conversations tab doesn't work

Post by Tony Li »

Great! Thanks for sharing the answer in case someone else uses UEE on Mac.
Post Reply