Page 1 of 1
Change "Show Invalid Responses" Based on Scene and Input Question
Posted: Sun May 01, 2022 7:35 pm
by xemanon
Hi! I have two questions:
1) Is there a way to change "show invalid responses" option on the dialogue manager conditionally, such as based on what scene we're on? Or more specifically, is there a way to set this option via a script?
2) I have my Input Manager on my Dialogue Manager as shown (attached an image). I noticed that when I press the "Space" button to continue a conversation in Unity, the mouse will jump to the center. And when I try the same on an uploaded web build, the mouse functionality disappears until I press "Esc." Is there a way to keep the Spacebar-continuing-conversation functionality while also letting the Mouse stay as it was? This isn't a big issue, but I was wondering.
3) Edit: One last question, what is the proper way to change an actor's display name in a conversation for the entire conversation? I've tried putting Code: Select all
Actor["name of actor in database"].Display_Name = "updated display name"
in the script of a dialogue node but it does not change for me. Nevermind, it seems to work now! Don't put spaces in your character's names
Thank you for any help in advance.
Re: Change "Show Invalid Responses" Based on Scene and Input Question
Posted: Sun May 01, 2022 8:17 pm
by Tony Li
xemanon wrote: ↑Sun May 01, 2022 7:35 pm1) Is there a way to change "show invalid responses" option on the dialogue manager conditionally, such as based on what scene we're on? Or more specifically, is there a way to set this option via a script?
Yes, see the info in
How To: Do Skill Checks -- more specifically,
this linked post.
xemanon wrote: ↑Sun May 01, 2022 7:35 pm2) I have my Input Manager on my Dialogue Manager as shown (attached an image). I noticed that when I press the "Space" button to continue a conversation in Unity, the mouse will jump to the center. And when I try the same on an uploaded web build, the mouse functionality disappears until I press "Esc." Is there a way to keep the Spacebar-continuing-conversation functionality while also letting the Mouse stay as it was? This isn't a big issue, but I was wondering.
Remove Space from the Input Device Manager's Key Codes To Check. Otherwise, when the Input Device Manager detects that you've pressed Space, it will switch to Keyboard mode, which will try to hide and lock the cursor in the center of the screen. You'll probably also want to remove Return for the same reason.
xemanon wrote: ↑Sun May 01, 2022 7:35 pm3) Edit: One last question, what is the proper way to change an actor's display name in a conversation for the entire conversation? I've tried putting Code: Select all
Actor["name of actor in database"].Display_Name = "updated display name"
in the script of a dialogue node but it does not change for me. Nevermind, it seems to work now! Don't put spaces in your character's names
Spaces are allowed in actors' Names. You just need to replace them with "_" when they're used as the index (lookup key) in the Actor[] Lua table, like:
Code: Select all
Actor["name_of_actor_in_database"].Display_Name = "updated display name";
More info:
Lua table indices
Also, the
Dialogue System Extras has a Discover Name Example that demonstrates how to change a display name in the middle of a conversation and have it take effect immediately. (Actor display names are cached at the beginning of the conversation, so just changing the Display Name field won't make it take effect right away.)
Re: Change "Show Invalid Responses" Based on Scene and Input Question
Posted: Mon May 02, 2022 8:12 pm
by xemanon
Yes, see the info in How To: Do Skill Checks -- more specifically, this linked post.
Hi, I'm trying out the package and information provided in the linked post still, though I am currently a bit confused. I see that there's a script attached that uses a basic dialogue UI, how would one go about using it if we are using a edited version of the JRPG prefab? Alternatively, is there a specific lines of code that could just toggle the `Show Invalid Responses` checkmark on the Dialogue Manager (don't care about having to change it in the middle of a conversation, just the scene we're on)?
Remove Space from the Input Device Manager's Key Codes To Check. Otherwise, when the Input Device Manager detects that you've pressed Space, it will switch to Keyboard mode, which will try to hide and lock the cursor in the center of the screen. You'll probably also want to remove Return for the same reason.
Thank you, I think this worked. I removed both Space and Enter and checked "Auto Focus".
Spaces are allowed in actors' Names. You just need to replace them with "_" when they're used as the index (lookup key) in the Actor[] Lua table, like:
Thank you, yes I was unclear, this was what I found as well. I originally had it as Actor["First Last"] = "new name" but it should have been Actor["First_Last"]=...
The Extras is useful!
Re: Change "Show Invalid Responses" Based on Scene and Input Question
Posted: Mon May 02, 2022 8:53 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,
xemanon wrote: ↑Mon May 02, 2022 8:12 pm
Yes, see the info in How To: Do Skill Checks -- more specifically, this linked post.
Hi, I'm trying out the package and information provided in the linked post still, though I am currently a bit confused. I see that there's a script attached that uses a basic dialogue UI, how would one go about using it if we are using a edited version of the JRPG prefab? Alternatively, is there a specific lines of code that could just toggle the `Show Invalid Responses` checkmark on the Dialogue Manager (don't care about having to change it in the middle of a conversation, just the scene we're on)?
It should work the same for an edited JRPG prefab, too. Are you seeing any issues?
If you want to toggle "Show Invalid Responses" at runtime, set
DialogueManager.displaySettings.inputSettings.includeInvalidEntries.