Page 1 of 1

PC Subtitle Panel Disabled At Runtime?

Posted: Tue Apr 26, 2022 9:04 pm
by PayasoPrince
Hello,

For some reason the PC Subtitle Panel is disabled when I play my game, even though it's enabled on the prefab.
Image

This wouldn't be a big deal, as I don't want to include it anyway. But I believe it is needed for the response menu to appear, correct? If so, why would my PC Subtitle Panel be disabled when I play? :shock:

Re: PC Subtitle Panel Disabled At Runtime?

Posted: Tue Apr 26, 2022 9:16 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,

The PC Subtitle Panel is not required to display player response menus.

It's disabled because it's not showing any subtitles and its Visibility isn't set to Always From Start. If you do want to see PC subtitles, tick the Dialogue Manager's Display Settings > Subtitle Settings > Show PC Subtitles During Line.

If you're not seeing player response menus, tick the Dialogue Manager's Input Settings > Always Force Response Menu. Then make sure your player response dialogue entry nodes are assigned to a player actor (e.g., node color is blue).

Re: PC Subtitle Panel Disabled At Runtime?

Posted: Tue Apr 26, 2022 9:22 pm
by PayasoPrince
thanks for the reply, Tony.

Hmm, I already had all of those things taken care of. It seems to go a bit deeper than that :(
Image

Is there any other reason this would occur?
I edited the UI to look the way I wanted to- could a component missing be causing this?

Re: PC Subtitle Panel Disabled At Runtime?

Posted: Tue Apr 26, 2022 10:35 pm
by Tony Li
It may help to fix the conversation actor assignments. In the Dialogue Editor, select Menu > Conversation Properties. Set the Actor dropdown to Player. Set the Conversant dropdown to Bootler. Then check the nodes to make sure they're assigned to the actors that you intend. In your Dialogue System Trigger, assign the player GameObject to the Conversation Actor field (so it matches the conversation's Actor) or leave it unassigned. Assign Bootler's GameObject to the Conversation Conversant field.

Then test it with the Basic Standard Dialogue UI. If it works, compare its setup to your customized UI to see if you missed something.

Re: PC Subtitle Panel Disabled At Runtime?

Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2022 11:46 am
by PayasoPrince
Hi Tony,

Fixed! Thanks for the suggestion!

I ended up just replicating the basic standard dialogue UI's Response panel. I'm not certain which setting it was, but it works now. /shrug

I was trying to accomplish the following when this originally broke:
I want to remove all of the extra space in the response panel. I.e. I only want it to be just big enough to fit the buttons that it contains. So, I would want it to shrink and expand accordingly.
Image

How can I accomplish this? :idea:

Re: PC Subtitle Panel Disabled At Runtime?

Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2022 1:08 pm
by Tony Li
Hi,

It's just Unity UI, so feel free to adjust the layout like any Unity UI interface. For example, you could make the Scroll Content a direct child of the Response Menu Panel, and add a Vertical Layout Group and Content Size Fitter to the Response Menu Panel. Set the Content Size Fitter's Vertical Fit to Preferred. Then delete the Scroll Rect and Scrollbar.

Re: PC Subtitle Panel Disabled At Runtime?

Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2022 6:08 pm
by PayasoPrince
Hi Tony,

I was hoping that it was just simple Unity UI. However, I am getting bizarre results when I try and customize it. :?
Following your steps, I created this following example on the prefab. It looks perfect here.
Image

However, for some reason it looks completely different when I play the game.
Here is how it is appearing in game. For some reason, the responses are overlapping each other, very condensed, and missing the button + panel background images.
Image

Any idea why this could be happening?

Re: PC Subtitle Panel Disabled At Runtime?

Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2022 6:20 pm
by Tony Li
When you get to that point in play mode, you can play around with the Vertical Layout Groups, etc., to get it to look the way you want. Then make a note of your changes so you can re-apply them when you exit play mode.

Here's a customized Basic Standard Dialogue UI that fits the response menu height to its content:

DS_CustomizedBasicDialogueUI_2022-04-27.unitypackage

Re: PC Subtitle Panel Disabled At Runtime?

Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2022 8:02 pm
by PayasoPrince
Hi Tony,

Thank you for providing me that example. I downloaded it and added it to my Dialogue Manager. Your example worked perfectly.

So, I structured my Response Panel to look exactly like yours in the example. Doing so seemed to break the response menus functionality. At that point, I removed mine, then literally copy and pasted your Response Panel into my Dialogue UI prefab and the same issue persisted.

What's happening is: The Response Panel is always enabled and the response buttons are never created.
Here is a SS of what I am seeing:
Image

I really could use assistance as this makes no sense to me and I am at my wits end. :oops:

EDIT: FIXED IT!!! I copy and pasted your Response Panel, but did not drag it into the Parent's menu panel slot. I am so happy to have this working. Thank you Tony!!!

Re: PC Subtitle Panel Disabled At Runtime?

Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2022 8:23 pm
by Tony Li
Happy to help! I'm glad you got it working the way you want.